A friendly group of people looking to share their Hobby!!!
 
HomeFAQSearchRegisterMemberlistUsergroupsLog in

Share | 
 

 Lesser Demons

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
AuthorMessage
Affliction
Forum Moderator


Posts : 655
Join date : 2007-08-20
Age : 42
Location : Cincinnati, Oh.

PostSubject: Lesser Demons   Sun Jul 13, 2008 1:06 pm

Ok, after reading the new rules and checking on other boards I cant seem to get a clear answer on this. Seems to be one of the first gray areas I can find. I am sure there will be more but here it is.

Can Summoned Lesser Demons form the Codex: Chaos Space Marines hold objectives (i.e. Scoring Units)?

I say yes they can, but seems there is some conflict because they dont actually take up a FOC Slot. But RAW seems to be clear that it is not a issue. Depends on how you define the word allowances I guess

The facts: (Matt edit if this is not allowed, not really sure may be to much info -- nah looks good - Matt)
Rule from 5th rulebook on holding objectives (pg.90) - An army's scoring units are all the units that come from its Troops allowance. Only doesn't count if: is a vehicle, has swarm rule, or specify that is not a scoring unit.

Rules from Codex: Chaos Space Marines (pg.102) - Units of Summoned Lesser Demons do not use up any force organization chart selection, but are otherwise treated as a Troop unit.

Let me know thoughts on this. If anyone else has seen a definitive answer on this post a link to it please.

_________________


40K Stats: ...is dead to me Evil or Very Mad
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://theblackparade2010.blogspot.com/
Matt
CAG Founder


Posts : 3552
Join date : 2007-08-19
Location : Cincinnati, OH

PostSubject: Re: Lesser Demons   Sun Jul 13, 2008 2:32 pm

Anyone check the FAQ on this?

[EDIT] - Checked, and it doesn't look like it Sad

_________________
Dark Angels 1750 win/loss Record
Win - 23 (Belial helped wreck Ryan's puny Eldar)
Loss - 13 (Brice's Necrons wiped me)
Draw - 2 (The 13th hold out in alpha take and hold)
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://cincycag.forumotion.com
Affliction
Forum Moderator


Posts : 655
Join date : 2007-08-20
Age : 42
Location : Cincinnati, Oh.

PostSubject: Re: Lesser Demons   Sun Jul 13, 2008 4:22 pm

I didn't find it in any FAQ's I looked at...if you do find it link it so I can read please.

[EDIT] Ok I have read all the major forums and the consensus is a "YES" they are a scoring unit. Again the argument was that the dont take up a FOC slot, but rules as written have no indication that FOC is even a consideration in the equation...so until proven otherwise I am going to play it that way.

_________________


40K Stats: ...is dead to me Evil or Very Mad
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://theblackparade2010.blogspot.com/
HAND OF DUME
Initiate
Initiate


Posts : 496
Join date : 2008-04-24
Age : 46
Location : Wastelands of the Miami county

PostSubject: Re: Lesser Demons   Sun Jul 13, 2008 8:02 pm

I would definately count them as scoring! It says "troop choice" and nothing about whether it takes a slot in the FOC. Rules lawyers will probably argue this, but it's in black and white and until GW clarifies in a FAQ, count them as scoring.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Marc
Fantasy Moderator


Posts : 2428
Join date : 2007-08-20
Location : Milford

PostSubject: Re: Lesser Demons   Sun Jul 13, 2008 8:12 pm

I'd play them scoring. CSMs need all the help they can muster.
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://cincycag.forumotion.com/
Makari
Supreme Forum Overlord


Posts : 3251
Join date : 2007-11-10
Age : 38
Location : Milford, OH

PostSubject: Re: Lesser Demons   Sun Jul 13, 2008 8:39 pm

Marc wrote:
I'd play them scoring. CSMs need all the help they can muster.

Ain't that the truth!

Yes I think it is written plainly, treated exactly as a troop choice, just does not take up a slot. But yes I can see how it could be argued! But also I can se what the "spirit" of the rule would be.

_________________
The footprints made in the sands of time are not made by sitting down... Unless your playing Warhammer WAAAGH!

New times calls for new Records:
Orcs & goblins (3-1-2)
Empire (0-0-0)
6th Edition
Orks (0-0)
Marines (3-1)
Imperial Guard (0-0)
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://myspace.com/makarithraka
Matt
CAG Founder


Posts : 3552
Join date : 2007-08-19
Location : Cincinnati, OH

PostSubject: Re: Lesser Demons   Sun Jul 13, 2008 9:12 pm

I don't think it is clear, I would allow them to score but I can see where to problem is.

...will most likely stay a problem until it gets FAQ'd

_________________
Dark Angels 1750 win/loss Record
Win - 23 (Belial helped wreck Ryan's puny Eldar)
Loss - 13 (Brice's Necrons wiped me)
Draw - 2 (The 13th hold out in alpha take and hold)
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://cincycag.forumotion.com
Sponsored content




PostSubject: Re: Lesser Demons   Today at 5:10 am

Back to top Go down
 
Lesser Demons
View previous topic View next topic Back to top 
Page 1 of 1
 Similar topics
-
» Scott's Nurgle Demons
» WYSIWYG Lesser Daemons [CSM]
» New White Dwarf and Demons
» Dark Eldar and Demons
» Another new Distraction - Chaos Demons! Some advice please.

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
CAG :: Warhammer 40k :: 40k Rules Questions & Discussion-
Jump to: