A friendly group of people looking to share their Hobby!!!
 
HomeFAQSearchRegisterMemberlistUsergroupsLog in

Share | 
 

 Rules Clarification - Rending

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
AuthorMessage
Marc
Fantasy Moderator


Posts : 2428
Join date : 2007-08-20
Location : Milford

PostSubject: Rules Clarification - Rending   Thu Aug 23, 2007 6:40 pm

With John's insight I reread the rules for Rending on Vehicles.

This is how I read it for a basic Str 4 Genestealer..

You take the Str of the model (4), add that to any 6's rolled and then roll another d6 to give a final AP value. For my example that would be anywhere from an 11 to 16 AP.

Not bad actually Wink
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://cincycag.forumotion.com/
Matt
CAG Founder


Posts : 3552
Join date : 2007-08-19
Location : Cincinnati, OH

PostSubject: Re: Rules Clarification - Rending   Thu Aug 23, 2007 7:02 pm

Yeah the way I think it through is you do

Basic Strength(4 in this case) + Any 6 rolled on AP (Which is for each attack) Then add another D6 to any of the attacks that got a 6 (but not all together)

For example if my Stealer hits a Landraider(AV14 front side and back) 4 times. I roll a 4, 6, 5, 6 for armor penetration. I add these rolls to my strength (As per armor penetration rules) giving me an 8, 10, 9, 10

The 8 and 9 can go no further (they don't beat or equal AV 14) as I did not roll 6's on those AP rolls (thus no rending). The two I did roll 6's on get another D6 each as per rending rules. Which I roll a 4 and a 5 on. Giving me a Glance and a Penetrate respectively.


Last edited by on Thu Aug 23, 2007 9:30 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://cincycag.forumotion.com
Affliction
Forum Moderator


Posts : 655
Join date : 2007-08-20
Age : 42
Location : Cincinnati, Oh.

PostSubject: Re: Rules Clarification - Rending   Thu Aug 23, 2007 8:26 pm

Yep what Matt said <---- cheers
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://theblackparade2010.blogspot.com/
CJ
Captain
Captain


Posts : 2334
Join date : 2007-08-20
Age : 41
Location : Harrison OH

PostSubject: Re: Rules Clarification - Rending   Thu Aug 23, 2007 10:52 pm

aha!!! And I was just trying to figure out the rules for this.....makes better sense now that you guys put it into english...lol
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Marc
Fantasy Moderator


Posts : 2428
Join date : 2007-08-20
Location : Milford

PostSubject: Re: Rules Clarification - Rending   Fri Aug 24, 2007 7:31 am

study

I said that..

I think..

You only get the extra D6 if you had rolled a 6 to hit. In our Genestealer example then, your D6 would be added to 10

I'm more comfortable vs armour now Wink
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://cincycag.forumotion.com/
Matt
CAG Founder


Posts : 3552
Join date : 2007-08-19
Location : Cincinnati, OH

PostSubject: Re: Rules Clarification - Rending   Fri Aug 24, 2007 1:24 pm

MOVED TO RULES SECTION

Yeah you are right Mark, in cc you only get the rending on the roll to hit. Where as in shooting it is on the AP roll.

At least I think you are right scratch
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://cincycag.forumotion.com
JMarv
The MathHammer


Posts : 914
Join date : 2007-08-20
Location : Evendale, OH

PostSubject: Rending Tanks   Fri Aug 24, 2007 1:55 pm

I think I disagree, but lets do an example all the way through to make sure we're all on the same page. Said genestealer is assaulting a land raider armor 14. Lets say the stealer needs a 4+ to hit. The stealer swings away with 3 attacks and rolls a 3,4,6. Two hits which then roll on the damage table. One rolls a 3, one a 6. The 3+4=7, way less than 14. Because one of the hits rolled a six, it now rolls another die. Lets say a 4. This attack become, 4+6+4=14 and a glancing hit. Against armor, it doesn't matter if you had a six or not to hit, all hits roll on the damage table, and any sixes on the damage table get an extra die. "Against a vehicle, an armor penetration roll of 6 allows another die to be rolled, with that additional die added to the score."

I just did a little math, and it would take 24 stealer attacks against a moving vehicle to average 1 glancing or greater hit (1/3 glance 2/3 pen) Against Armor 14 that is, it gets better at lower armor. Strangely enough, a Str 4 rending attack cannot glance armor 10. If it got on the damage chart (enough to glance) it would automatically get another die and be forced to penetrate.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Matt
CAG Founder


Posts : 3552
Join date : 2007-08-19
Location : Cincinnati, OH

PostSubject: Re: Rules Clarification - Rending   Fri Aug 24, 2007 3:30 pm

Yeah, that is how I had my example working. But I thought I remembered something along the lines of what Marc said.

John is 100% right. It's AP rolls of 6's that add another d6. Not 6's on roll to hit.
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://cincycag.forumotion.com
Marc
Fantasy Moderator


Posts : 2428
Join date : 2007-08-20
Location : Milford

PostSubject: Re: Rules Clarification - Rending   Fri Aug 24, 2007 3:49 pm

study study Suspect

I think we all just said the same thing differently.

Who the hell started this thread Laughing

Thanks for the maths John. It was a helpful insight.
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://cincycag.forumotion.com/
Matt
CAG Founder


Posts : 3552
Join date : 2007-08-19
Location : Cincinnati, OH

PostSubject: Re: Rules Clarification - Rending   Fri Aug 24, 2007 4:11 pm

Well Marc you stated that you get an extra D6 on a roll to HIT. Where as it is actually on the AP roll
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://cincycag.forumotion.com
Marc
Fantasy Moderator


Posts : 2428
Join date : 2007-08-20
Location : Milford

PostSubject: Re: Rules Clarification - Rending   Fri Aug 24, 2007 4:43 pm

Embarassed

Indeed. My apologies to John and Matt and Chad and etc

I'll get me coat.
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://cincycag.forumotion.com/
Steve
Initiate
Initiate


Posts : 275
Join date : 2007-09-23
Age : 31

PostSubject: Re: Rules Clarification - Rending   Sun Sep 23, 2007 10:00 pm

just remember that with rending the is not any glancing because if an attack rends then it counts as AP 1.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Affliction
Forum Moderator


Posts : 655
Join date : 2007-08-20
Age : 42
Location : Cincinnati, Oh.

PostSubject: Re: Rules Clarification - Rending   Sun Sep 23, 2007 10:31 pm

There is nothing in the rule book stating that rending are AP1 hits. Rending - pg32 in the little rule book, not sure how pages match up in the 2 rule books.
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://theblackparade2010.blogspot.com/
Steve
Initiate
Initiate


Posts : 275
Join date : 2007-09-23
Age : 31

PostSubject: Re: Rules Clarification - Rending   Mon Sep 24, 2007 3:59 pm

it appears you are right it doesnt say anything in the rulebook about it being ap 1, sorry about the mis information. i do remember getting an agruement about this at a tournament, and the player was able to show it to be me somewhere, but now i cant find it! oh well.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Matt
CAG Founder


Posts : 3552
Join date : 2007-08-19
Location : Cincinnati, OH

PostSubject: Re: Rules Clarification - Rending   Mon Sep 24, 2007 4:29 pm

Yup, best thing about getting into a new group of gamers is 1) teaching them new things and 2) learning new things.

It is funny how many rules are played wrong within a collective. Not really a bad thing, but just funny how quickly a wrong rule spreads as a correct rule.

_________________
Dark Angels 1750 win/loss Record
Win - 23 (Belial helped wreck Ryan's puny Eldar)
Loss - 13 (Brice's Necrons wiped me)
Draw - 2 (The 13th hold out in alpha take and hold)
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://cincycag.forumotion.com
Marc
Fantasy Moderator


Posts : 2428
Join date : 2007-08-20
Location : Milford

PostSubject: Re: Rules Clarification - Rending   Mon Sep 24, 2007 4:36 pm

Ultramarine wrote:
i do remember getting an agruement about this at a tournament, and the player was able to show it to be me somewhere.

Suspect

What army was he using? Was this from the RuleBook or Army Codex?
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://cincycag.forumotion.com/
Nathan
Veteran Sergeant
Veteran Sergeant


Posts : 1134
Join date : 2007-08-25
Age : 25
Location : Mason, or Dayton, Ohio

PostSubject: Re: Rules Clarification - Rending   Mon Sep 24, 2007 6:16 pm

How the hell did this thread already get 2 pages. We all agreed once, but we all had to say the same thing several different ways. Jeez. No No No
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Sponsored content




PostSubject: Re: Rules Clarification - Rending   Today at 5:16 pm

Back to top Go down
 
Rules Clarification - Rending
View previous topic View next topic Back to top 
Page 1 of 1
 Similar topics
-
» General Discussion and Rules Clarification and Questions
» Tau Rules Clarification
» Gym battling rules clarification
» Rules Clarification: Re: Smart Missiles
» Martian Rebellion, with figs and GURPS rules(SAVAGE WORLDS?)

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
CAG :: Warhammer 40k :: 40k Rules Questions & Discussion-
Jump to: