A friendly group of people looking to share their Hobby!!!
 
HomeFAQSearchRegisterMemberlistUsergroupsLog in

Share | 
 

 Space Marine question

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
AuthorMessage
Dayth
Neophyte


Posts : 74
Join date : 2008-09-21
Location : Fairfield

PostSubject: Space Marine question   Wed Jan 14, 2009 11:19 pm

Ok here goes i got a question about the orbital bombardment rule. For my list I am going to run Marneus Calgar and Pedro Kantor both have the orbital bombardment rule. I would like to know if it could be used twice since both hq's have this ability and a different character would be using it. The codex states it can be used once per game in his shooting phase. My understanding of "his" is that if a different character has the same ability that he could use it as well if any one could clarify I would greatly appriciate it

I contacted GW about this but havent heard a response in like 3 days

Dustin
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Carl_Dillon
Forum Moderator


Posts : 378
Join date : 2008-04-08
Age : 42

PostSubject: Re: Space Marine question   Thu Jan 15, 2009 7:30 am

I would think you would be able to use it twice. Just like in cases where a vehicle or model is given a weapon that they can only use once. You can still have two vehicles or moelds that can each use thier weapon. Also, the ability to do the orbital bombardment is payed for in the cost of the model and as far as I know theres not a "0-1" restriction (where there can only be one per army) next to the ability.

_________________
1-1-1 Dark Eldar
2 - 3 Dark Elves
"Fairy tales do not tell children the dragons exist.
Children already know that dragons exist.
Fairy tales tell children the dragons can be killed."
G.K.Chesterton
Back to top Go down
View user profile
wittdooley
Veteran Sergeant
Veteran Sergeant


Posts : 1125
Join date : 2008-03-27
Age : 33
Location : Cincinnati / Western Hills

PostSubject: Re: Space Marine question   Thu Jan 15, 2009 8:58 am

You're using Marneas AND Pedro? Isn't that like... nearly 500 points in those two models?

I wanna see this list!
Back to top Go down
View user profile
JMarv
The MathHammer


Posts : 914
Join date : 2007-08-20
Location : Evendale, OH

PostSubject: Re: Space Marine question   Thu Jan 15, 2009 9:44 am

You also know that you can't use both of their special tactics in the same battle. You have to pick either Calgar's pass or fail at will or Pedros scoring sternguard, not both.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Dayth
Neophyte


Posts : 74
Join date : 2008-09-21
Location : Fairfield

PostSubject: Re: Space Marine question   Thu Jan 15, 2009 3:52 pm

this is just a rough draft without army builder but here goes

HQ
Calgar-265
Kantor-175

Troops
Tac squad-170 flamer, missile launcher
Tac squad w/rhino-235 flamer missile launcher

Elite
Sternguard-130 sergeant has combi plasma
Sternguard w/drop pod-175 sergeant has combi melta
Sternguard w/drop pod-175 sergeant has combi melta

Heavy
Devastator squad-225 lascannonx2 heavy bolter plasma cannon
Preadator-95 heavy bolters on side sponsons plus Hunter killer missile
Thunderfire cannon-100

Total= 1745

I have no idea if this list will work any help would be amazing

I would be using Kantor's rule so that the sternguard squads are scoring units
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Keith
Sergeant
Sergeant


Posts : 672
Join date : 2007-11-27

PostSubject: Re: Space Marine question   Thu Jan 15, 2009 6:50 pm

Would be nice to get those sternguard in some drop pods and get then where you want quick... I'd drop the Thunderfire cannon for at least one unit of sternguard in a pod
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Dayth
Neophyte


Posts : 74
Join date : 2008-09-21
Location : Fairfield

PostSubject: Re: Space Marine question   Thu Jan 15, 2009 7:51 pm

there are 2 sets of sterguard in drop pods read better lol
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Keith
Sergeant
Sergeant


Posts : 672
Join date : 2007-11-27

PostSubject: Re: Space Marine question   Thu Jan 15, 2009 7:55 pm

Haha, Yea I overlooked that. (Still gonna lose to the Waaaagh!! though)
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Mike Leon
Forum Moderator


Posts : 667
Join date : 2008-05-12

PostSubject: Re: Space Marine question   Fri Jan 16, 2009 12:21 am

Marneus is wasted in this list. He has no transport and no retinue. Take regular terminators with Storm Shields and Thunder Hammers. They will be way better.
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://whowritesthisstuff.net/
Dayth
Neophyte


Posts : 74
Join date : 2008-09-21
Location : Fairfield

PostSubject: Re: Space Marine question   Fri Jan 16, 2009 6:09 pm

ok stupid question im looking at my codex and Calgar's ability is called God of War and in the description of that it doesnt say anything about choosing that or another models ability. The Kantor description says for his ability Chapter Tactics says exchange combat tactics for stubborn rule and sternguards get to be scoring units. If more than one character in your army has chapter tactics to choose. So I guess my question is does Calgar's God of War count as this or would it only count for him since the other units got switched to stubborn. Damn now im confused
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Mike Leon
Forum Moderator


Posts : 667
Join date : 2008-05-12

PostSubject: Re: Space Marine question   Fri Jan 16, 2009 6:29 pm

If you take Marneus and Pedro Cantor, all of your space marines will be Stubborn.

They will no longer have Combat Tactics. They can no longer choose to fail morale checks.

Marneus Calgar himself can still choose whether to pass or fail morale checks, but any squad he joins can still break.

Marneus is also Stubborn.

This is the only possible setup. You do not have the choice to take Combat Tactics instead of Stubborn.
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://whowritesthisstuff.net/
Sponsored content




PostSubject: Re: Space Marine question   Today at 6:55 am

Back to top Go down
 
Space Marine question
View previous topic View next topic Back to top 
Page 1 of 1
 Similar topics
-
» Space Marine Scout Heavy choice
» Space Marine Techmarines w/ Servitors
» Space marine vs jedi. By Klomster.
» Fist of the Omnissiah - 750pts Space Marine Force
» Space Marine Chaplain Dreadnought

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
CAG :: Warhammer 40k :: 40k Rules Questions & Discussion-
Jump to: