A friendly group of people looking to share their Hobby!!!
 
HomeFAQSearchRegisterMemberlistUsergroupsLog in

Share | 
 

 You can't roll 2 dice instead of rolling 1 and rerolling

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
AuthorMessage
Mike Leon
Forum Moderator


Posts : 667
Join date : 2008-05-12

PostSubject: You can't roll 2 dice instead of rolling 1 and rerolling   Mon Jan 19, 2009 5:53 pm

A lot of people will roll 2 dice for a twin-linked shot instead of rolling 1 then rerolling if they miss. I say that is illegal.

I started a thread about this on Dakka and it's in discussion, so the verdict isn't out yet.

Peep dis anyway:

I think this illustrates that the problem is still apparent even when you fire only 1 weapon.

Rolling 2 dice at the same time for 1 shot:

D1 | D2
miss hit
hit miss
miss miss <------ This is the only possibility of failure out of 4 options. 25% chance to miss.
hit hit

Rolling a dice and then rerolling:

D1 | reroll
hit
miss hit
miss miss <---- This is the only possibility of failure out of 3 options. 33% chance to miss.

Read more here:
http://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/0/227657.page#525228
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://whowritesthisstuff.net/
Dennis
Neophyte


Posts : 46
Join date : 2007-08-21

PostSubject: Re: You can't roll 2 dice instead of rolling 1 and rerolling   Mon Jan 19, 2009 6:03 pm

rolling 2 dice or just one at a time is pretty much the same thing. If i pick up 2 dice in my hand take my shot rolling one dice and it misses then i roll the other in my hand and it comes up a hit or miss. That is the same things as rolling 2 dice unless u are telling me that i have to reroll the exact same dice that i rolled for the shot and ill tell you now that just is not gonna happen. you can sit there and try them dice averages and whatever its just dice Matt used to try the same thing with me about dice rolls. It comes out the same no matter how you do it i roll 1 dice 2 times or roll 2 at same time or 1 right after the other its all the same.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Mike Leon
Forum Moderator


Posts : 667
Join date : 2008-05-12

PostSubject: Re: You can't roll 2 dice instead of rolling 1 and rerolling   Mon Jan 19, 2009 6:08 pm

Can I roll 20 dice for 10 shots that get to reroll then?
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://whowritesthisstuff.net/
Affliction
Forum Moderator


Posts : 655
Join date : 2007-08-20
Age : 42
Location : Cincinnati, Oh.

PostSubject: Re: You can't roll 2 dice instead of rolling 1 and rerolling   Mon Jan 19, 2009 6:12 pm

Think you stayed up to late there Mike, drink a Redbull and redo your math.

As long as you dont add the D6 together its still a 1 and 6 chance of rolling any number.

You could roll 2 dice 10 times, for twin linked. As long as its 2 dice for 1 twin linked weapon.

JMarv would be the man for the math here.

_________________


40K Stats: ...is dead to me Evil or Very Mad
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://theblackparade2010.blogspot.com/
Dennis
Neophyte


Posts : 46
Join date : 2007-08-21

PostSubject: Re: You can't roll 2 dice instead of rolling 1 and rerolling   Mon Jan 19, 2009 6:19 pm

now u are starting to talk about something different you are not just firing one weapon you have a squad shooting. If you start trying to roll like that then you have to figure guys missing u cant lump lots of different models togther for twin linked items. you would have to roll each model seperat.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Mike Leon
Forum Moderator


Posts : 667
Join date : 2008-05-12

PostSubject: Re: You can't roll 2 dice instead of rolling 1 and rerolling   Mon Jan 19, 2009 7:07 pm

Someone on Dakka rewrote my chart like this:

2 dice method assuming 4+:
Hit l Hit (25%)
Hit l Miss (hit) (25%)
Miss l Hit (hit) (25%)
Miss l Miss (miss) (25%)

So 75% chance of hitting.

Rerolls due to Twin-Linked
Hit (50%)
Miss l Hit (25%, as there is a 50% chance you don't roll the second die at all)
Miss l Miss (25%)

So 75% chance of hitting.

I think this sorts it out pretty well. It doesn't look like there is any difference with 1 weapon, but more than 1 is still a problem.
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://whowritesthisstuff.net/
Marc
Fantasy Moderator


Posts : 2428
Join date : 2007-08-20
Location : Milford

PostSubject: Re: You can't roll 2 dice instead of rolling 1 and rerolling   Mon Jan 19, 2009 8:36 pm

Only time I've done it/seen it/would allow for it is a single roll..

ex: Twin Linked Lascannon

Not sure who would or would allow more than a single roll.. Suspect

ex: Twin Linked Heavy Bolter
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://cincycag.forumotion.com/
Mike Leon
Forum Moderator


Posts : 667
Join date : 2008-05-12

PostSubject: Re: You can't roll 2 dice instead of rolling 1 and rerolling   Mon Jan 19, 2009 10:58 pm

I gave up on this earlier today, but they are still flaming about it over on Dakka.

I feel like I accomplished something now.
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://whowritesthisstuff.net/
Sexiest_hero
Initiate
Initiate


Posts : 399
Join date : 2008-12-05
Age : 36

PostSubject: Re: You can't roll 2 dice instead of rolling 1 and rerolling   Tue Jan 20, 2009 12:42 am

You know how they get on dakka, still most of thier ruling gets put in FAQs.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Makari
Supreme Forum Overlord


Posts : 3251
Join date : 2007-11-10
Age : 38
Location : Milford, OH

PostSubject: Re: You can't roll 2 dice instead of rolling 1 and rerolling   Tue Jan 20, 2009 6:51 am

I don't have a problem with people doing the 2 dice for the one Twin linked shot but I wouldn't recommend that for the tournament.
The only reason why i say that is that it CAN lend it self to dishonesty with some people especially in a tournament that may try to pull a quick one on ya with extra quick dice rolling.

I won't ban it from our tournament by I will advise against it.

_________________
The footprints made in the sands of time are not made by sitting down... Unless your playing Warhammer WAAAGH!

New times calls for new Records:
Orcs & goblins (3-1-2)
Empire (0-0-0)
6th Edition
Orks (0-0)
Marines (3-1)
Imperial Guard (0-0)
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://myspace.com/makarithraka
Matt
CAG Founder


Posts : 3552
Join date : 2007-08-19
Location : Cincinnati, OH

PostSubject: Re: You can't roll 2 dice instead of rolling 1 and rerolling   Tue Jan 20, 2009 1:36 pm

Yeah works for one twin linked roll but not for any more than that.

_________________
Dark Angels 1750 win/loss Record
Win - 23 (Belial helped wreck Ryan's puny Eldar)
Loss - 13 (Brice's Necrons wiped me)
Draw - 2 (The 13th hold out in alpha take and hold)
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://cincycag.forumotion.com
Mendin
Initiate
Initiate


Posts : 263
Join date : 2008-07-29

PostSubject: Re: You can't roll 2 dice instead of rolling 1 and rerolling   Tue Jan 20, 2009 3:44 pm

This is why those little plastic "die in a die" dice are awesome. They're perfect twin-linked shot dice. The outer die is transparent, so if it rolls a miss, you just look at the smaller die inside to see what the second result was.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Sponsored content




PostSubject: Re: You can't roll 2 dice instead of rolling 1 and rerolling   Today at 9:09 pm

Back to top Go down
 
You can't roll 2 dice instead of rolling 1 and rerolling
View previous topic View next topic Back to top 
Page 1 of 1
 Similar topics
-
» Roll off delays, restarts, rolling starts
» Round 5-Shake it on da floor like dice pon ya hand
» OMFG A WILD BELLSPROUT APPEARED
» January 2012 MW3 Roll Call
» DICE - the real story, Lou Zocchi

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
CAG :: Warhammer 40k :: 40k Rules Questions & Discussion-
Jump to: