A friendly group of people looking to share their Hobby!!!
 
HomeFAQSearchRegisterMemberlistUsergroupsLog in

Share | 
 

 vehicle moving then immobilised.. assaulting

View previous topic View next topic Go down 

which?
Auto hit?
88%
 88% [ 14 ]
6+
12%
 12% [ 2 ]
Total Votes : 16
 

AuthorMessage
altahara
Sergeant
Sergeant


Posts : 700
Join date : 2007-11-10
Age : 34
Location : West Chester

PostSubject: vehicle moving then immobilised.. assaulting   Tue Apr 28, 2009 5:56 pm

OK, since its running rampant in the other forums i thought id bring it ehre...

SCENARIO
a vehicle moves 12".. then the enemys turn it gets shot.. get immobiles and the enemy assaults it.. what does the enemy need to hit this vehicle?

since its immobile is it auto hit? or since it moved is it 6+??

cases can be made for both.. what do you think?

eplain your answer
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Sexiest_hero
Initiate
Initiate


Posts : 399
Join date : 2008-12-05
Age : 36

PostSubject: Re: vehicle moving then immobilised.. assaulting   Tue Apr 28, 2009 7:09 pm

Simple, if it can't move it's auto hit. What is up with 40k player on those forums, I just had to explain to some people Nob bikers can't move 12" then assault 12". The rule says Immobilised vehicles are auto-hit. there is no claus or ammendments to the rule.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
altahara
Sergeant
Sergeant


Posts : 700
Join date : 2007-11-10
Age : 34
Location : West Chester

PostSubject: Re: vehicle moving then immobilised.. assaulting   Tue Apr 28, 2009 7:11 pm

yea i know.. but some people are saying that "it moved in it previous movement phase and thats what it says".. Im gonna play it as 'its immobile so its auto hit' and just wanted to make sure that noone thought of it as 'cheese'..
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Sexiest_hero
Initiate
Initiate


Posts : 399
Join date : 2008-12-05
Age : 36

PostSubject: Re: vehicle moving then immobilised.. assaulting   Tue Apr 28, 2009 7:56 pm

The effect is the same it has nothing to do with what it did, as off the shooting phase it's grounded, and in the assault phase it can be autohit. They would have added a "even if it is immobilised in the following shooting phase". You shoot at it, it stops moving, you run in to finish it. The 6+ to hit represents it's moving while you are swinging at it.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
jimmy jam
Neophyte


Posts : 14
Join date : 2008-09-19
Age : 28

PostSubject: Re: vehicle moving then immobilised.. assaulting   Tue Apr 28, 2009 10:10 pm

Determining what is needed to hit on a vehicle is made by how far it moved in the previous turn, page 63 BRB under "Rolling to hit against vehicles". You would need 6's to hit as it moved over 6" in it's previous movement phase.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Mike Leon
Forum Moderator


Posts : 667
Join date : 2008-05-12

PostSubject: Re: vehicle moving then immobilised.. assaulting   Tue Apr 28, 2009 10:59 pm

I looked this up.

The rulebook is pretty clear. You always auto-hit an immobilized vehicle. Read the chart carefully.

Its says a vehicle that IS immoblized or WAS stationary in its previous turn. The key words are in caps.
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://whowritesthisstuff.net/
wittdooley
Veteran Sergeant
Veteran Sergeant


Posts : 1125
Join date : 2008-03-27
Age : 33
Location : Cincinnati / Western Hills

PostSubject: Re: vehicle moving then immobilised.. assaulting   Wed Apr 29, 2009 9:34 am

I'm actually going to piggy back this question:

It hasn't happened to me really, before, but if an attempt was made to assault and there were no hits, would the vehicle be able to move through?

I'm thinking in terms of reality here with this question, in that if a vehicle were moving, no one hit it, it would stand to reason the vehicle wouldn't just stop. With that being said, I know liberties have to be taken to reality in order to make 40k function.

I browsed through the rulebook, and it seems to indicate that if an assault (even a failed one) is attempted, then the vehicle must stop. Maybe something to think about for 6th ed (hehe). Units assaulting a moving vehicle must make an assault check. If their assault is successful, they take their individual CC attacks. If the assault is unsuccessful, the vehicle may move through as normal, putting all models that attempted to assault at side armour---or even more deviously, treat a vehicle moving at cruising speed with a failed assault attempt as a chariot like in Fantasy and the unit takes X number of impact hits.

Who knows.

Oh yeah, I agree that it's an auto hit because the rulebook states that any vehicle that didn't move or is immobilised is an autohit.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
JTPitt
Sergeant
Sergeant


Posts : 890
Join date : 2007-12-14
Age : 34
Location : Deer Park

PostSubject: Re: vehicle moving then immobilised.. assaulting   Wed Apr 29, 2009 11:20 am

The Mike Leon wrote:
I looked this up.

The rulebook is pretty clear. You always auto-hit an immobilized vehicle. Read the chart carefully.

Its says a vehicle that IS immoblized or WAS stationary in its previous turn. The key words are in caps.

Does it say that exactly....I don't have the rulebook with me but I know it states that if a vehicle moved under 6 you needed 4's to hit and over you need 6's. So if it states "IS" immobilized not "was"S then you would auto hit. If it states was then you would still need 6's or 4's to hit. However because of how they are trying to demenstrate things I would say that more then likely it states "is" and not "was" for the immobilized to represent live action battles.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
HAND OF DUME
Initiate
Initiate


Posts : 496
Join date : 2008-04-24
Age : 46
Location : Wastelands of the Miami county

PostSubject: Re: vehicle moving then immobilised.. assaulting   Wed Apr 29, 2009 12:13 pm

To quote the chart on page 63...

"Attacking a vehicle that is immobilized or was stationary in the previous turn." = Automatic hit

Notice the "or", meaning in either circumstance it would be auto hits.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
altahara
Sergeant
Sergeant


Posts : 700
Join date : 2007-11-10
Age : 34
Location : West Chester

PostSubject: Re: vehicle moving then immobilised.. assaulting   Wed Apr 29, 2009 2:55 pm

Witt, if i understand you question right... When anyone tries to assault a vehicle, and no restult happens, in the vehicles next mvt phase, it can move away,tank shock them etc. There is a rule in the book that says "If the vehicle does not move in its mvt phase the assault continues in the assault phase" So lets say i assault a rhino, imiss entirely,in the rhinos turn it CAN move way but shooses not to, so in the rhinos assault phase the assault continues.

Pg 63 is where these rules are found. Combat results and Sucessive turns
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Mike Leon
Forum Moderator


Posts : 667
Join date : 2008-05-12

PostSubject: Re: vehicle moving then immobilised.. assaulting   Wed Apr 29, 2009 5:10 pm

vehicles with no WS are never engaged in combat.

You can assault a rhino and the rhino can keep moving whether it is hit or not. Also the unit that assaulted the rhino can move away on their next turn.
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://whowritesthisstuff.net/
wittdooley
Veteran Sergeant
Veteran Sergeant


Posts : 1125
Join date : 2008-03-27
Age : 33
Location : Cincinnati / Western Hills

PostSubject: Re: vehicle moving then immobilised.. assaulting   Thu Apr 30, 2009 11:49 am

Well shit. Been playing that wrong. So a land raider, because it has with machine spirit, would have to stay, or no?
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Makari
Supreme Forum Overlord


Posts : 3251
Join date : 2007-11-10
Age : 38
Location : Milford, OH

PostSubject: Re: vehicle moving then immobilised.. assaulting   Thu Apr 30, 2009 12:56 pm

No because it does not have a WS.

_________________
The footprints made in the sands of time are not made by sitting down... Unless your playing Warhammer WAAAGH!

New times calls for new Records:
Orcs & goblins (3-1-2)
Empire (0-0-0)
6th Edition
Orks (0-0)
Marines (3-1)
Imperial Guard (0-0)
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://myspace.com/makarithraka
wittdooley
Veteran Sergeant
Veteran Sergeant


Posts : 1125
Join date : 2008-03-27
Age : 33
Location : Cincinnati / Western Hills

PostSubject: Re: vehicle moving then immobilised.. assaulting   Thu Apr 30, 2009 1:41 pm

I need to look at my dex...sheesh I suck.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
wolfman
Initiate
Initiate


Posts : 221
Join date : 2008-02-10
Age : 27
Location : Lawrenceburg, IN

PostSubject: Re: vehicle moving then immobilised.. assaulting   Thu Apr 30, 2009 10:51 pm

I think wit as that your ok with your raider but not say a dread. idk if i'm thinking along the wrong lines or no.
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://www.myspace.com/wolfhunters_den
altahara
Sergeant
Sergeant


Posts : 700
Join date : 2007-11-10
Age : 34
Location : West Chester

PostSubject: Re: vehicle moving then immobilised.. assaulting   Fri May 01, 2009 6:12 am

yea since a deread has a WS it is unable tomove away from combat.. Unless it is in combat with a vehicle without a WS.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Sponsored content




PostSubject: Re: vehicle moving then immobilised.. assaulting   Today at 1:45 am

Back to top Go down
 
vehicle moving then immobilised.. assaulting
View previous topic View next topic Back to top 
Page 1 of 1
 Similar topics
-
» Fast vehicles, transports and shooting
» Removing Vehicle Cover Saves
» (NNGO) Moving Back To Ireland
» Land Raider Assault Ramp
» W: SM Vehicle / Arms

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
CAG :: Warhammer 40k :: 40k Rules Questions & Discussion-
Jump to: