A friendly group of people looking to share their Hobby!!!
 
HomeFAQSearchRegisterMemberlistUsergroupsLog in

Share | 
 

 More questions regarding "count as"

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
AuthorMessage
archite666
Initiate
Initiate


Posts : 231
Join date : 2008-12-24

PostSubject: More questions regarding "count as"   Sat May 30, 2009 1:19 am

Would the following be tournament legal?

Normal guardman with cloaks and sniper rifles count as ratlings? I hate the filthy hobbit models.

Guardsman on space marine bikes for rough riders? I hate horses...

Guevasa(SP?, the tau human auxillaries, firewarrior chests and legs with catachan heads and arms) counting as kroot? My friend plays tau but absolutly hate kroot and their models.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Sexiest_hero
Initiate
Initiate


Posts : 399
Join date : 2008-12-05
Age : 36

PostSubject: Re: More questions regarding "count as"   Sat May 30, 2009 1:22 am

first two yes.

Last one no, Kroot just are too different than humans. Try ork mercs, for jusy mix bits to create a new tau inslaved race.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
archite666
Initiate
Initiate


Posts : 231
Join date : 2008-12-24

PostSubject: Re: More questions regarding "count as"   Sat May 30, 2009 2:47 am

Sexiest_hero wrote:
first two yes.

Last one no, Kroot just are too different than humans. Try ork mercs, for jusy mix bits to create a new tau inslaved race.

Uh that seems like a matter of opinion more than fact
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Matt
CAG Founder


Posts : 3552
Join date : 2007-08-19
Location : Cincinnati, OH

PostSubject: Re: More questions regarding "count as"   Sat May 30, 2009 2:50 am

Quote :
Guevasa(SP?, the tau human auxillaries, firewarrior chests and legs with catachan heads and arms) counting as kroot? My friend plays tau but absolutly hate kroot and their models.

This would be totally legal, as long as you tell your opponent.

I wouldnt worry too much about them being "un-kroot" like as they will stick out like a sore thumb in a Tau army.

_________________
Dark Angels 1750 win/loss Record
Win - 23 (Belial helped wreck Ryan's puny Eldar)
Loss - 13 (Brice's Necrons wiped me)
Draw - 2 (The 13th hold out in alpha take and hold)
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://cincycag.forumotion.com
Marc
Fantasy Moderator


Posts : 2428
Join date : 2007-08-20
Location : Milford

PostSubject: Re: More questions regarding "count as"   Sat May 30, 2009 11:45 am

Agree with Matt.. just tell your opponent whats what
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://cincycag.forumotion.com/
Matt
CAG Founder


Posts : 3552
Join date : 2007-08-19
Location : Cincinnati, OH

PostSubject: Re: More questions regarding "count as"   Sat May 30, 2009 3:50 pm

Yeah the main things are keeping the same (or larger) base identity and model stature (with true LOS being what it is now.)

Your friend will be dead on with the base size and pretty damn similar with the stature of the model.

_________________
Dark Angels 1750 win/loss Record
Win - 23 (Belial helped wreck Ryan's puny Eldar)
Loss - 13 (Brice's Necrons wiped me)
Draw - 2 (The 13th hold out in alpha take and hold)
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://cincycag.forumotion.com
Evil Bob
Sergeant
Sergeant


Posts : 812
Join date : 2008-01-05
Location : Oxford

PostSubject: Re: More questions regarding "count as"   Tue Jun 02, 2009 5:34 pm

archite666 wrote:
Would the following be tournament legal?
To many tournaments, so many clubs, so many house rules, so many different takes on it. Best to ask each group first. The people who see an honest effort won't care, the pricks will do what they do.

I wouldn't try it for any tournament unless there was some conversions going on.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Matt
CAG Founder


Posts : 3552
Join date : 2007-08-19
Location : Cincinnati, OH

PostSubject: Re: More questions regarding "count as"   Wed Jun 03, 2009 7:55 am

Bob, not sure how many tournaments you have been in recently... but this would rarely be a problem imo.

_________________
Dark Angels 1750 win/loss Record
Win - 23 (Belial helped wreck Ryan's puny Eldar)
Loss - 13 (Brice's Necrons wiped me)
Draw - 2 (The 13th hold out in alpha take and hold)
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://cincycag.forumotion.com
Sexiest_hero
Initiate
Initiate


Posts : 399
Join date : 2008-12-05
Age : 36

PostSubject: Re: More questions regarding "count as"   Wed Jun 03, 2009 1:28 pm

I only say that because Kroot act so diffrerent than Human,,more attaces and ablilities and so forth, How about human with genestealer arms, It would look very cool and be fluffy.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Matt
CAG Founder


Posts : 3552
Join date : 2007-08-19
Location : Cincinnati, OH

PostSubject: Re: More questions regarding "count as"   Wed Jun 03, 2009 5:29 pm

How would that be fluffy haha?

_________________
Dark Angels 1750 win/loss Record
Win - 23 (Belial helped wreck Ryan's puny Eldar)
Loss - 13 (Brice's Necrons wiped me)
Draw - 2 (The 13th hold out in alpha take and hold)
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://cincycag.forumotion.com
Sexiest_hero
Initiate
Initiate


Posts : 399
Join date : 2008-12-05
Age : 36

PostSubject: Re: More questions regarding "count as"   Wed Jun 03, 2009 6:06 pm

Think about it
How much fun could a genestealer Cult have if they "Joined" the greater good. Plus Genestealer cultest fight just as good as kroot.


http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v646/CMDante/Genestealer%20Hybrid/GenestealerCultArt.jpg


http://www.dakkadakka.com/s/i/at/2009/2/DSCN9956-13150248.jpg

a little conversion work and there you go.

Check out the fluff fot Genestealer cults, they would work out just nicely.

My favorite bit is how the genestealers memerise you with thier eyes and "Implant" you with an egg. Hence the Implant plant attack they can have. Oh fun fact, genestealer cults and and genesteals themselves were tied to chaos in the RT days, they could have marks of chaos!
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Matt
CAG Founder


Posts : 3552
Join date : 2007-08-19
Location : Cincinnati, OH

PostSubject: Re: More questions regarding "count as"   Wed Jun 03, 2009 10:21 pm

I guess... kind of changes the theme of your entire army though. Having it being infiltrated by a kult.

Whatevs.

_________________
Dark Angels 1750 win/loss Record
Win - 23 (Belial helped wreck Ryan's puny Eldar)
Loss - 13 (Brice's Necrons wiped me)
Draw - 2 (The 13th hold out in alpha take and hold)
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://cincycag.forumotion.com
archite666
Initiate
Initiate


Posts : 231
Join date : 2008-12-24

PostSubject: Re: More questions regarding "count as"   Fri Jun 05, 2009 10:32 pm

Yeah um....

How do I say this politely?

I'm looking for facts on the count as rule in reference to the tournament scene....

....Not what YOU THINK would look cool or what YOU prefer I use in MY army.

Further, some of the opinions presented here on based on absolutly nothing.

Catachans and kroot are 99% identical. One of the few differences is their weapons but guess what? The tau modified the kroots' weapons for them so they would do the same for the humans.

Cool so the gue'vasa work, my friend will be very happy as he hates the kroot.

FYI, I think he will be joining the forum soon.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Sponsored content




PostSubject: Re: More questions regarding "count as"   Today at 9:35 am

Back to top Go down
 
More questions regarding "count as"
View previous topic View next topic Back to top 
Page 1 of 1
 Similar topics
-
» Regarding heavy weapon teams and "count as" rule
» Campaign Story Challenge : ERA, "The Mass" Story
» May "Pitch Party" Business Networking Reception & Mixer
» Eternal Dream Official "LOL Pictures" Thread
» Snopes's "Odd News"

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
CAG :: Warhammer 40k :: 40k Rules Questions & Discussion-
Jump to: