A friendly group of people looking to share their Hobby!!!
 
HomeFAQSearchRegisterMemberlistUsergroupsLog in

Share | 
 

 Crazy wound allocation rules....

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
AuthorMessage
archite666
Initiate
Initiate


Posts : 231
Join date : 2008-12-24

PostSubject: Crazy wound allocation rules....   Mon Jun 29, 2009 10:46 pm

Ok so my chimera and vets inside them count as one unit so they fire at the remains of a space marine squad...

I score 3 wounds from the multilaser (chimera) and 3 plasma guns wounds (from the vets inside) My opponent has 2 guys left, a normal marine and his captain or whatever...

He says since theres an even number of wounds, he allocates the 3 plasma to the normal guy, and the 3 multilaser (savable) wounds to his captain...

That is not how I read the rules but after trying to reread these again I just get really confused... Anyone care to clarify?
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Matt
CAG Founder


Posts : 3552
Join date : 2007-08-19
Location : Cincinnati, OH

PostSubject: Re: Crazy wound allocation rules....   Tue Jun 30, 2009 5:29 am

As far as I know he can definitely allocate like that.

I think, but then again... haven't had much time to play 5th Sad

_________________
Dark Angels 1750 win/loss Record
Win - 23 (Belial helped wreck Ryan's puny Eldar)
Loss - 13 (Brice's Necrons wiped me)
Draw - 2 (The 13th hold out in alpha take and hold)
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://cincycag.forumotion.com
jpohagan
Neophyte


Posts : 23
Join date : 2008-12-02
Age : 29
Location : West Harrison, IN

PostSubject: Re: Crazy wound allocation rules....   Tue Jun 30, 2009 8:15 am

It was my understanding that he would have to allocate each different source of wounds equally among his guys. In this case, he would allocate his wounds so that one guy had 2 wounds from the plasma, and the other would have one plasma wound, the allocate the multilaser wounds the same way.
At least, I think that's how it works. I've read that bit on allocating wounds at least a dozen times and I'm still not sure how it works.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
FrostWolf
Veteran Sergeant
Veteran Sergeant


Posts : 1119
Join date : 2007-09-09
Location : lost somewhere in my own mind

PostSubject: Re: Crazy wound allocation rules....   Tue Jun 30, 2009 9:45 am

I thought(dont have a rule book nearby me so I cant look it up right now) that a wound from a plasma( something he couldnt save from the sounds of it could only be allocated 1 wound per guy since after that wound they guy is dead(though someone still has to end up with the extra shot that is basicly overkill)
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Ricter
Neophyte


Posts : 61
Join date : 2009-01-20
Age : 30
Location : Cincinnati, Ohio

PostSubject: Re: Crazy wound allocation rules....   Tue Jun 30, 2009 11:03 am

You guys are all making this way too complicated, it's really much simpler than you think.

You can allocate wounds from shooting attacks in any way that you wish, as long as no model is assigned 2 wounds until every model is assigned 1, so on and so on.

There's nothing special about having to allocate no saves wounds different, or the source of the gun changing how it's allocated.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Mike Leon
Forum Moderator


Posts : 667
Join date : 2008-05-12

PostSubject: Re: Crazy wound allocation rules....   Wed Jul 01, 2009 7:16 pm

You guys missed something big here.

The vehicle and the unit inside are different units. They do not fire at the same time.

That means you allocate the wounds from the first firing unit (2 on 1 guy and 1 on the other guy) then you roll saves and THEN you allocate wounds from the other firing unit.

Thus, in your specific example, both space marines must die no matter how the wounds are allocated.

If the multilaser and plasmagun shots came from the same unit, THEN you could put all 3 laser shots on one guy and all 3 plasma shots on the other guy.
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://whowritesthisstuff.net/
archite666
Initiate
Initiate


Posts : 231
Join date : 2008-12-24

PostSubject: Re: Crazy wound allocation rules....   Wed Jul 01, 2009 7:36 pm

The Mike Leon wrote:
You guys missed something big here.

The vehicle and the unit inside are different units. They do not fire at the same time.

That means you allocate the wounds from the first firing unit (2 on 1 guy and 1 on the other guy) then you roll saves and THEN you allocate wounds from the other firing unit.

Thus, in your specific example, both space marines must die no matter how the wounds are allocated.

If the multilaser and plasmagun shots came from the same unit, THEN you could put all 3 laser shots on one guy and all 3 plasma shots on the other guy.


ah really? You know I had that question but my opponent said they are the same unit, that totally gives me some different options
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Ricter
Neophyte


Posts : 61
Join date : 2009-01-20
Age : 30
Location : Cincinnati, Ohio

PostSubject: Re: Crazy wound allocation rules....   Thu Jul 02, 2009 11:52 pm

Yeah, he's right. I completely missed that the first time around.

I think technically you're supposed to resolve each unit's shooting separately, so this "issue" should never come up. I'm afb atm so don't take my word on that.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
guynamedFleck
Neophyte


Posts : 87
Join date : 2009-03-23

PostSubject: Re: Crazy wound allocation rules....   Sun Jul 05, 2009 5:53 pm

archite666 wrote:
Ok so my chimera and vets inside them count as one unit so they fire at the remains of a space marine squad...

I score 3 wounds from the multilaser (chimera) and 3 plasma guns wounds (from the vets inside) My opponent has 2 guys left, a normal marine and his captain or whatever...

He says since theres an even number of wounds, he allocates the 3 plasma to the normal guy, and the 3 multilaser (savable) wounds to his captain...

That is not how I read the rules but after trying to reread these again I just get really confused... Anyone care to clarify?

I'm afraid your friend is correct. As long as the Vets are embarked within the Chimera, they do count as a single unit for the purpose of shooting (all shots resolved at once and cannot elect separate targets). So in your example, you did 6 wounds (3 @ AP2 and 3 @ AP6). Your friend would then allocate the wounds one at a time, each getting 1 before any get 2, until all wounds are placed. Only after all wounds are placed would armour saves be taken. It doesn't matter that the standard marine is not allowed a save, as this doesn't come into effect until the wounds are placed (This is the same case when dealing with Instant Kill - double toughness weapons).
If you are still confused on this, check out the diagram example on p25 of the rulebook, they explain it really well, and with pictures!
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Yarrick68
Neophyte


Posts : 13
Join date : 2008-09-25

PostSubject: Re: Crazy wound allocation rules....   Sat Jul 25, 2009 2:13 pm

Quote :
I'm afraid your friend is correct. As long as the Vets are embarked within the Chimera, they do count as a single unit for the purpose of shooting (all shots resolved at once and cannot elect separate targets). So in your example, you did 6 wounds (3 @ AP2 and 3 @ AP6). Your friend would then allocate the wounds one at a time, each getting 1 before any get 2, until all wounds are placed. Only after all wounds are placed would armour saves be taken. It doesn't matter that the standard marine is not allowed a save, as this doesn't come into effect until the wounds are placed (This is the same case when dealing with Instant Kill - double toughness weapons).
If you are still confused on this, check out the diagram example on p25 of the rulebook, they explain it really well, and with pictures!

This is false. Models in a transport are treated as a seperate unit when firing so what mike leon said was correct. The unit in the transport can also shoot at a different target as well since its seperate.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
guynamedFleck
Neophyte


Posts : 87
Join date : 2009-03-23

PostSubject: Re: Crazy wound allocation rules....   Sat Jul 25, 2009 2:25 pm

Yarrick68 wrote:
This is false. Models in a transport are treated as a seperate unit when firing so what mike leon said was correct. The unit in the transport can also shoot at a different target as well since its seperate.

I'd actually like this to be the case. Any proof (page numbers of your reference) to back up the statement?
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Yarrick68
Neophyte


Posts : 13
Join date : 2008-09-25

PostSubject: Re: Crazy wound allocation rules....   Sat Jul 25, 2009 2:36 pm

Sure thing

http://www.games-workshop.com/MEDIA_CustomProductCatalog/m2030054_40k_Rulebook_March_2009.pdf

Quote :
Page 2
Q. Must passengers fire at the same target that their vehicle is firing at?

A. No, they are a seperate unit (albeit they are temporarily co-existing with the vehicle) and so can fire at a different target.


And your wish is granted, no charge Very Happy
Back to top Go down
View user profile
guynamedFleck
Neophyte


Posts : 87
Join date : 2009-03-23

PostSubject: Re: Crazy wound allocation rules....   Sat Jul 25, 2009 5:28 pm

Brilliant! cheers
Back to top Go down
View user profile
quickfuze
Neophyte


Posts : 168
Join date : 2009-04-16

PostSubject: Re: Crazy wound allocation rules....   Sat Jul 25, 2009 6:46 pm

I am very glad that someone posted that, cause i knew i read it somewhere and have been pulling my hair out trying to find it. I was actually getting aggravated thinking about my opponent trying that way of allocating wounds lol......
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Sponsored content




PostSubject: Re: Crazy wound allocation rules....   Today at 9:35 am

Back to top Go down
 
Crazy wound allocation rules....
View previous topic View next topic Back to top 
Page 1 of 1
 Similar topics
-
» New 6th edition wound allocation from beasts of war....
» Wound allocation on multiple wound models
» 1850 Pure Pally
» Martian Rebellion, with figs and GURPS rules(SAVAGE WORLDS?)
» Rules and Guidelines for hosting a party

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
CAG :: Warhammer 40k :: 40k Rules Questions & Discussion-
Jump to: