A friendly group of people looking to share their Hobby!!!
 
HomePortalFAQSearchRegisterMemberlistUsergroupsLog in

Share | 
 

 a question about casting dice

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
AuthorMessage
Ronniem11
Initiate
Initiate
avatar

Posts : 319
Join date : 2008-04-17
Location : Mason, Ohio

PostSubject: a question about casting dice   Thu Jul 02, 2009 12:04 am

on a level 4 wizard Say I have 6 casting dice (4 for his level and 2 from magic), first I can only cast 5 correct? (1 + his level)
and second if I do use 5 dice to cast a spell does that only leave me 1 die + magic pool dice to use for the next spell?
and third if I use the dice from magic pool are they spent as well or can I use them over for the next wizard?

I will assume the same answer goes for the Dispel dice as well!
Back to top Go down
View user profile
kainthedragoonx
Sergeant
Sergeant
avatar

Posts : 658
Join date : 2008-04-15
Age : 36
Location : Art of War Gaming and Miniatures!

PostSubject: Re: a question about casting dice   Thu Jul 02, 2009 9:08 am

Ronniem11 wrote:
on a level 4 wizard Say I have 6 casting dice (4 for his level and 2 from magic), first I can only cast 5 correct? (1 + his level)
and second if I do use 5 dice to cast a spell does that only leave me 1 die + magic pool dice to use for the next spell?
and third if I use the dice from magic pool are they spent as well or can I use them over for the next wizard?

I will assume the same answer goes for the Dispel dice as well!

Going to walk through this slowly...for my benefit...not yours! Sleep


You bring a level 4 wizard to the table.

He generates 4 power dice for himself and 2 dispel dice for the dispel pool.
You also generate 2 power dice for your power dice pool and 2 dispel dice for the dispel pool for playing the game.

So currently you have a grand total of 6 power dice and 4 dispel dice.

The rules state:
[*]You can never use more than your level + 1 power dice for a single spell.
[*]A wizard can only use the power dice he generates and power dice from the general power dice pool for casting spells.
[*]Once a power dice is used, it is spent for the turn.

So, here we go.

You're Wizard Lord wants to cast a spell. You look at the spell and it's difficulty is 13+. So you decide you want to cast that spell with 5 dice. You roll all four of the Wizard Lord's power dice, and you add in one dice from your power dice pool. You roll a 15. The spell goes off...whatever happens.

Now, you have just one power dice remaining in the pool. You can use that power dice to attempt to cast something small, but the 5 dice you spend on that awesome spell are now used until your next magic phase.


Does that make sense?
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://www.aowcinci.com
Ronniem11
Initiate
Initiate
avatar

Posts : 319
Join date : 2008-04-17
Location : Mason, Ohio

PostSubject: Re: a question about casting dice   Fri Jul 03, 2009 4:24 pm

that's pretty much how I read it too! so that is cool just makes one think out what spells to use and when to use them, great challenge when one has so many good spells to choose from! and then it makes you try to get your opponent to use up their scrolls and dispel dice as well! nice nice i am wanting to play fantasy more and more now hehe! I will study up some more on the rules

study

Thanks!
Back to top Go down
View user profile
kainthedragoonx
Sergeant
Sergeant
avatar

Posts : 658
Join date : 2008-04-15
Age : 36
Location : Art of War Gaming and Miniatures!

PostSubject: Re: a question about casting dice   Mon Jul 06, 2009 8:49 am

Yeah Warhammer is a lot more going on in it than 40K...tons of stuff to keep straight! cyclops
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://www.aowcinci.com
Evil Bob
Sergeant
Sergeant
avatar

Posts : 812
Join date : 2008-01-05
Location : Oxford

PostSubject: Re: a question about casting dice   Tue Jul 07, 2009 6:23 pm

kainthedragoonx wrote:
Yeah Warhammer is a lot more going on in it than 40K...tons of stuff to keep straight! cyclops
You said a mouth full brother. 8-P
Back to top Go down
View user profile
kainthedragoonx
Sergeant
Sergeant
avatar

Posts : 658
Join date : 2008-04-15
Age : 36
Location : Art of War Gaming and Miniatures!

PostSubject: Re: a question about casting dice   Tue Jul 07, 2009 6:58 pm

Angry Bob wrote:
kainthedragoonx wrote:
Yeah Warhammer is a lot more going on in it than 40K...tons of stuff to keep straight! cyclops
You said a mouth full brother. 8-P


Talking is for wimps! I just CRUSH FACE!!!! BUHWHAHAHAHAHAHA!


errr...sorry ego got out of it's cage. geek
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://www.aowcinci.com
Sponsored content




PostSubject: Re: a question about casting dice   

Back to top Go down
 
a question about casting dice
View previous topic View next topic Back to top 
Page 1 of 1
 Similar topics
-
» Round 5-Shake it on da floor like dice pon ya hand
» DICE - the real story, Lou Zocchi
» making molds for greenstuff casting
» Which side of the dice to replace with the Dark Eldar symbol?
» Custom Dice Symbol

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
CAG :: Warhammer Fantasy :: Fantasy Rules Questions & Discussion-
Jump to: