A friendly group of people looking to share their Hobby!!!
 
HomePortalFAQSearchRegisterMemberlistUsergroupsLog in

Share | 
 

 Consolidation in Fantasy?

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
AuthorMessage
guynamedFleck
Neophyte
avatar

Posts : 87
Join date : 2009-03-23

PostSubject: Consolidation in Fantasy?   Wed Sep 16, 2009 11:53 am

It's great to see a revitalization of Fantasy in the Cincy area. As such, I am following suit and dusting off the old O&G (while simultaneously kicking myself for trading off the dwarves and brettonians for more 40k goodness). I finally got in my first couple of games since who knows what edition of fantasy (I played around the time of 2nd ed 40k). Anyway, onto the question.

Normally a combat is won or lost with both sides still having models on the table, thus Break Test, followed by Flee and Pursuit. If lucky enough, the Pursuing unit Overruns the Fleeing unit and by situation moves away from the location of the combat. My question pertains to situations where one unit completely eliminates their opponent. Is the unit left where they are, or do they receive some sort of a consolidation move? I want to say no, but it seems strange that such an effective charge would be penalized by not having any movement. Thanks,

-Patrick

p.s. let me get a "hell yeah" if you think this is the most poorly laid out fantasy rulebook ever, haha. cheers
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Neznarf
Neophyte


Posts : 24
Join date : 2009-02-28
Age : 38

PostSubject: Re: Consolidation in Fantasy?   Wed Sep 16, 2009 1:36 pm

It's always good to see another fantasy player and a fellow greenskin to boot! Welcome to the Waaagh!

A charging unit is entitled to an "overrun" move after wiping out an opponent in combat. Note that this only applies if the charger wipes the enemy out (your troops can't overrun if they are charged and wipe out the chargers) and it only applies on the actual turn that the unit charges.

This move is 2d6/3d6 just like a normal pursuit move except that the movement is always directly forward rather than in the direction that the enemy would have fled in the case of multiple units in combat. This move is supposed to represent the momentum of a devastating charge and it would be silly if that momentum carried you off at a sharp 90 degree angle or, worse yet, back the way you came!

Also, unlike a normal pursuit move, the overrun is entirely voluntary. You don't have to pass a LD test to hold pursuit if the move would put you in a bad spot (exception: Hatred or frenzy'd units are REQUIRED to overrun whenever possible and may not even test to restrain).

Hope this helps!
Back to top Go down
View user profile
guynamedFleck
Neophyte
avatar

Posts : 87
Join date : 2009-03-23

PostSubject: Re: Consolidation in Fantasy?   Wed Sep 16, 2009 1:49 pm

awesome, exactly what I was looking for, thanks
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Sponsored content




PostSubject: Re: Consolidation in Fantasy?   

Back to top Go down
 
Consolidation in Fantasy?
View previous topic View next topic Back to top 
Page 1 of 1
 Similar topics
-
» Final Fantasy X ~ The Return of Sin
» Warhammer Fantasy Rule Book Available Newport Games
» fantasy play
» Fantasy Armies for Sale
» Favorite Warhammer Fantasy Miniature

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
CAG :: Warhammer Fantasy :: Fantasy Rules Questions & Discussion-
Jump to: