A friendly group of people looking to share their Hobby!!!
 
HomeFAQSearchRegisterMemberlistUsergroupsLog in

Share | 
 

 Tyrant Guard: Cover Saves

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
AuthorMessage
Chethrok_Bloodfist
Neophyte


Posts : 189
Join date : 2008-07-12
Location : The deepest pits of Hell ...

PostSubject: Tyrant Guard: Cover Saves   Tue Jan 19, 2010 10:34 pm

I have a question about mixed units, monstrous creatures, and cover saves.

Hive Tyrants are Monstrous Creatures, and therefore can't use Gaunts for cover. Tyrant Guard, however, are Infantry, so shooting through Gaunts at a Tyrant Guard will provide a 4+ cover save.

So when shooting at a Tyrant and his Guard when behind another Tyranid unit, can wounds allocated to the Tyrant Guard benefit from cover saves? If so, this would seem to be a decent tactic for absorbing high-AP shots directed at the Tyrant.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Mike Leon
Forum Moderator


Posts : 667
Join date : 2008-05-12

PostSubject: Re: Tyrant Guard: Cover Saves   Wed Jan 20, 2010 12:57 am

I believe that, not only can the guards take cover saves, the tyrant can as well. This is because he is part of the same unit, and cover saves apply to whole units as long as 50% of that unit is behind cover. Two or more guards must be in cover for this to work.
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://whowritesthisstuff.net/
Chethrok_Bloodfist
Neophyte


Posts : 189
Join date : 2008-07-12
Location : The deepest pits of Hell ...

PostSubject: Re: Tyrant Guard: Cover Saves   Wed Jan 20, 2010 9:17 am

Neato. This seems like a solid tactic for screening the big gribbly while he's closing with the enemy. I'm thinking about a list that involves two Hive Tyrants with Hive Commander and a massive Turn Two Deep Strike with Mycetic Spores and Trygons.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
HAND OF DUME
Initiate
Initiate


Posts : 496
Join date : 2008-04-24
Age : 46
Location : Wastelands of the Miami county

PostSubject: Re: Tyrant Guard: Cover Saves   Wed Jan 20, 2010 5:36 pm

I think mycetic spores are going to be the ticket... especially for zoans and alpha strike lists.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Warmonger
Initiate
Initiate


Posts : 496
Join date : 2008-06-06
Location : The churning fields of Clark county

PostSubject: Re: Tyrant Guard: Cover Saves   Thu Jan 21, 2010 8:51 am

There is some controversy about the Tyrant getting cover saves when attached with tyrant guard. As the guard are classified as infantry and the tyrant is a MC., both have seperate rules for cover saves and are not normally allowed to join together. In so that there is not any rules in the BRB that cover that situation and the codex does not address it either. Hopefully the GW FAQ will explain it when it comes out or the INAT FAQ should be out in a couple of weeks, maybe it will address it. scratch
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Ronniem11
Initiate
Initiate


Posts : 319
Join date : 2008-04-17
Location : Mason, Ohio

PostSubject: Re: Tyrant Guard: Cover Saves   Thu Jan 21, 2010 9:46 am

It does say in the Codex that when a Tyrant joins the guard that the guard can't go to ground voluntarily or involuntary and they get all the Tyrants attributes as an independent character gives units so I would think, even though I would like to be be that the tyrant gets the cover save, that the whole unit becomes vulnerable not allowing the cover save from the gants but you have to allocate all the wounds to the guard first I believe.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Chethrok_Bloodfist
Neophyte


Posts : 189
Join date : 2008-07-12
Location : The deepest pits of Hell ...

PostSubject: Re: Tyrant Guard: Cover Saves   Thu Jan 21, 2010 1:18 pm

Well, in this edition you don't have to allocate all the wounds to the guards first, and the inability to go to ground says nothing about the presence or lack of cover saves. I guess, as Warmonger said, there isn't anything said about it anywhere, and we need to wait for a FAQ to find out for sure.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
mikerollsones
Neophyte


Posts : 99
Join date : 2007-11-22
Age : 28
Location : the nati

PostSubject: Re: Tyrant Guard: Cover Saves   Thu Mar 04, 2010 6:01 pm

so can tyrants get cover from warriors?
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Warmonger
Initiate
Initiate


Posts : 496
Join date : 2008-06-06
Location : The churning fields of Clark county

PostSubject: Re: Tyrant Guard: Cover Saves   Thu Mar 04, 2010 9:01 pm

Until GW comes out with their Faq for Tyranids, the INAT Faq has addressed this issue. page 91

Q: Is a Tyrant joined with a Tyrant Guard unit able to utilize cover saves from intervening units and terrain that doesn't physically cover 50% of the Tyrant model?

A: Yes, as long as half the models in the Tyrant/Tyrant Guard unit count as being in cover then the entire unit gets a cover regardless of whether the Tyrant model itself is obscured.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Sponsored content




PostSubject: Re: Tyrant Guard: Cover Saves   Today at 5:14 am

Back to top Go down
 
Tyrant Guard: Cover Saves
View previous topic View next topic Back to top 
Page 1 of 1
 Similar topics
-
» hive tyrant guard
» Cover saves for shooting through units
» Cover saves agaisnt imotekh's lord of the storm.
» Removing Vehicle Cover Saves
» LOS to Vehicles and Cover Saves from Wrecks

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
CAG :: Warhammer 40k :: 40k Rules Questions & Discussion-
Jump to: