A friendly group of people looking to share their Hobby!!!
 
HomePortalFAQSearchRegisterMemberlistUsergroupsLog in

Share | 
 

 Empire Detachments...

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
AuthorMessage
Makari
Supreme Forum Overlord
avatar

Posts : 3262
Join date : 2007-11-10
Age : 39
Location : Milford, OH

PostSubject: Empire Detachments...   Mon Jun 21, 2010 1:16 pm



So according to the Empire Armies Book for counter charge. using a detachment

1) Detachments can stand and shoot

2) Move charger into parent unit

3) Move detachment that charges the flank if possible

a) to resolve combat the counter charging unit goes first then the charging unit then the parent unit.

Will this override the rule of go off initiative? Common sense says no, but I can definitely see this being ruled in favor of the countercharging unit going before the charging unit.

And yes I know 6/7th ed book in 8th ed rules

_________________
The footprints made in the sands of time are not made by sitting down... Unless your playing Warhammer WAAAGH!

New times calls for new Records:
Orcs & goblins (3-1-2)
Empire (0-0-0)
6th Edition
Orks (0-0)
Marines (3-1)
Imperial Guard (0-0)
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://myspace.com/makarithraka
kainthedragoonx
Sergeant
Sergeant
avatar

Posts : 658
Join date : 2008-04-15
Age : 36
Location : Art of War Gaming and Miniatures!

PostSubject: Re: Empire Detachments...   Mon Jun 21, 2010 1:23 pm

I In this case it would resolve as worded in the army book. Expect this to be covered in the FAQ to be released in July. Common logic would dictate that the FAQ will change this to resolve in ini order, due to the age of the Empire book.

Enjoy it for the next three weeks.


Edit: Is your wording exactly what it says in the empire book? Or does it say the detachments count as charging?
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://www.aowcinci.com
Marc
Fantasy Moderator
avatar

Posts : 2428
Join date : 2007-08-20
Location : Milford

PostSubject: Re: Empire Detachments...   Mon Jun 21, 2010 1:52 pm

Indeed the PDFs promised should clear up mucho problemas..

(..like prayers for example)

Speaking of Detachments, they will break ranks in 8th
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://cincycag.forumotion.com/
kainthedragoonx
Sergeant
Sergeant
avatar

Posts : 658
Join date : 2008-04-15
Age : 36
Location : Art of War Gaming and Miniatures!

PostSubject: Re: Empire Detachments...   Mon Jun 21, 2010 2:13 pm

Marc wrote:
Indeed the PDFs promised should clear up mucho problemas..

(..like prayers for example)

Speaking of Detachments, they will break ranks in 8th

Are you sure? I believe that they will only break if they have ranks. bounce
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://www.aowcinci.com
Marc
Fantasy Moderator
avatar

Posts : 2428
Join date : 2007-08-20
Location : Milford

PostSubject: Re: Empire Detachments...   Mon Jun 21, 2010 2:27 pm

Correct, at least 2 ranks.. I did that whole "assume" thing
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://cincycag.forumotion.com/
kainthedragoonx
Sergeant
Sergeant
avatar

Posts : 658
Join date : 2008-04-15
Age : 36
Location : Art of War Gaming and Miniatures!

PostSubject: Re: Empire Detachments...   Mon Jun 21, 2010 2:59 pm

Marc wrote:
Correct, at least 2 ranks.. I did that whole "assume" thing

My bad. I've not seen empire in a long time, so I didn't remember if you could take ranks of Detachments...

yeah, ranked detachments FTW/ cat
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://www.aowcinci.com
Makari
Supreme Forum Overlord
avatar

Posts : 3262
Join date : 2007-11-10
Age : 39
Location : Milford, OH

PostSubject: Re: Empire Detachments...   Mon Jun 21, 2010 4:48 pm



Detachments never cause panic in another unit regardless of size... So my blocks of 40 Spearmen Flanked by 20 Halberds and 20 Handgunners will be sweet!!!

_________________
The footprints made in the sands of time are not made by sitting down... Unless your playing Warhammer WAAAGH!

New times calls for new Records:
Orcs & goblins (3-1-2)
Empire (0-0-0)
6th Edition
Orks (0-0)
Marines (3-1)
Imperial Guard (0-0)
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://myspace.com/makarithraka
Crobar
Sergeant
Sergeant


Posts : 645
Join date : 2007-12-10

PostSubject: Re: Empire Detachments...   Mon Jun 21, 2010 8:50 pm

I am willing to bet that they will address that in the FAQ. Currently, the detachments will go first, cancel ranks and all no matter what their initiative is. Most likely, it will end up initiative order and you will get your own +1 CR for charging, but still you cancel ranks on the enemies charge. That is pretty sweet.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Crobar
Sergeant
Sergeant


Posts : 645
Join date : 2007-12-10

PostSubject: Re: Empire Detachments...   Tue Jul 13, 2010 7:45 pm

they did address detachments in the FAQ, your detachment can countercharge and if they can, they will charge the side of the unit that charged the parent unit. The detachment counts as charging. Unfortunately, they still go in int. order but at least they cancel the chargers +1 combat resolution for charging by getting it themselves and if they have 2 ranks or more at the end of combat, they cancel ranks for combat rez, but not for stubborn.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Bojesphob
Forum Moderator
avatar

Posts : 1323
Join date : 2007-12-14
Location : West Side!

PostSubject: Re: Empire Detachments...   Wed Jul 14, 2010 8:45 am

http://www.games-workshop.com/gws/content/article.jsp?categoryId=1000018&pIndex=1&aId=3000006&start=2

I don't know if any of this will help, but here is what the FAQ says:

Page 39 – Countercharge
Change to “In the enemy’s Movement phase a detachment that
is in close support, and that has not been charged itself, may
countercharge an enemy unit charging its parent unit. The
countercharge is made at the end of the Charge sub-phase,
after all normal charges have been carried out. Make the
countercharge using the rules for charges. However, if the
detachment can draw a line of sight to an exposed flank of the
enemy, and is within charge range of it, it can charge it in the
flank, even if it would normally have to charge its front.”
Page 39 – Supporting Charge
Change to “In its own Movement phase a detachment that is in
close support, and that has not yet charged itself, may make a
supporting charge against an enemy unit that has been charged
by its parent unit. The supporting charge is made at the end of
the Charge sub-phase, after all normal charges have been
carried out. Carry out the supporting charge using the rules for
charges. However, if the detachment can draw a line of sight to
an exposed flank of the enemy, and is within charge range of it,
it can charge it in the flank, even if it would normally have to
charge its front.”
Page 39 – Figure 2. Supporting Charge
Change the second and third sentences in the paragraph at the
bottom of the diagram to “The parent unit declares a charge
against the enemy unit. The enemy holds its ground, and then
at the end of the Charge sub-phase the detachment declares a
supporting charge.”



Q. When an Empire parent unit is charged in the enemy Magic
phase, are its supporting detachments allowed to react with a
countercharge? (p38)
A. No.

This is everything the FAQ has in it about supporting and counter charge.

_________________
A tiny portion of humanity turned its back on mankind in the waning days of the last Golden Age. Over one and a half centuries later, the PHR has emerged from the shadows as an unrecognisable civilisation, its people irrevocably changed. They are no longer simple human beings, they are post-humans - cyborgs.

Back to top Go down
View user profile
Makari
Supreme Forum Overlord
avatar

Posts : 3262
Join date : 2007-11-10
Age : 39
Location : Milford, OH

PostSubject: Re: Empire Detachments...   Wed Jul 14, 2010 9:16 am

I suspected as much that they would change the striking first for the detachments as that was based more on 6/7 edition rules. Still very good though and plan to test them after a few Orc battles.

_________________
The footprints made in the sands of time are not made by sitting down... Unless your playing Warhammer WAAAGH!

New times calls for new Records:
Orcs & goblins (3-1-2)
Empire (0-0-0)
6th Edition
Orks (0-0)
Marines (3-1)
Imperial Guard (0-0)
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://myspace.com/makarithraka
Sponsored content




PostSubject: Re: Empire Detachments...   

Back to top Go down
 
Empire Detachments...
View previous topic View next topic Back to top 
Page 1 of 1
 Similar topics
-
» Empire Detachments...
» Empire Handgunners better in melee than shooting.
» Empire Captain on Pegasus WiP
» Empire Knightly Orders
» 1750 Tau Empire [5th ed]

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
CAG :: Warhammer Fantasy :: Fantasy Rules Questions & Discussion-
Jump to: