So I recently ventured away my O'vesa star in search of other silly combos and found Aun'va with his magic staff of ignoring wounds. Play tested him recently with a Tau commander in 2+ armor tanking out front for him, along with 2x shield drones. His squad was largely ignored which let him buff a bunch of fire warriors. Anyways, I had 2 questions regarding his staff special rule....
"Paradox of duality - Whenever Aunva's unit suffers one or more unsaved wounds from a shorting attack, roll a D6. If the result is equal to or higher than the AP of the shot, the wound is discounted, exactly as if a cover save had been passed ( wounds from AP1 are therefore discounted). This roll cannot be made against weapons with AP - ."
1st question is when this is combined with a Feel No Pain roll, which happens first? (Assuming you already failed your first armor/cover/invul). I can't think of any reasons / situations off the top of my head on why the order would matter, but would like to know incase the issue does arise.
2nd question is can this be used against strength D? I'm guessing the answer is no because this would fall into the special rolls category. But it would be comical to see a Aun'va use his power to shrug off strength D hits ( 2+ paradox role against it because of AP2), and then continue to parade across the battlefield in his floating wheelchair.