A friendly group of people looking to share their Hobby!!!
 
HomeFAQSearchRegisterMemberlistUsergroupsLog in

Share | 
 

 New Shokk Attack Gun Question

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
AuthorMessage
Makari
Supreme Forum Overlord


Posts : 3251
Join date : 2007-11-10
Age : 38
Location : Milford, OH

PostSubject: New Shokk Attack Gun Question   Sat Mar 01, 2008 11:04 pm

The Big Mek aims at the Vehicle and rolls a 10 for the strength. He is fired across the field and is now in contact with the vehicle.
The rule states "Immediately place the Mek in Base contact with the target, and treat him as if he had initiated an assault that turn."

So question is this can he still assault in the assault phase if there is a target within charge range, because you don't have to stay engaged with a vehicle, right?

Here is what happened:
The Mek was placed in base contact with a Hammerhead after being shot thru his own gun. The Tau Commander was in charge range during the assault phase. A light arguement insued and we took the d6 roll method and the Mek was allowed to charge this game.

_________________
The footprints made in the sands of time are not made by sitting down... Unless your playing Warhammer WAAAGH!

New times calls for new Records:
Orcs & goblins (3-1-2)
Empire (0-0-0)
6th Edition
Orks (0-0)
Marines (3-1)
Imperial Guard (0-0)
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://myspace.com/makarithraka
Nathan
Veteran Sergeant
Veteran Sergeant


Posts : 1134
Join date : 2007-08-25
Age : 25
Location : Mason, or Dayton, Ohio

PostSubject: Re: New Shokk Attack Gun Question   Sun Mar 02, 2008 12:34 am

I'd say no, because the text says that it counts as him having initiated a charge. I think it means for the turn.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Makari
Supreme Forum Overlord


Posts : 3251
Join date : 2007-11-10
Age : 38
Location : Milford, OH

PostSubject: Re: New Shokk Attack Gun Question   Sun Mar 02, 2008 1:02 am

Counts as IF he had initiated. i.e. he never charged and all this took place in the shooting phase. When in combat with vehicles, as is my understanding, you are not engaged unless you actually assault. I understand that if it is a unit that he hit he cannot disengage because the rules ar eclear on that. . .

I could see it both ways however I am leaning more towards the Mek charging a unit instead of fisting a tank... ew...

_________________
The footprints made in the sands of time are not made by sitting down... Unless your playing Warhammer WAAAGH!

New times calls for new Records:
Orcs & goblins (3-1-2)
Empire (0-0-0)
6th Edition
Orks (0-0)
Marines (3-1)
Imperial Guard (0-0)
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://myspace.com/makarithraka
Matt
CAG Founder


Posts : 3552
Join date : 2007-08-19
Location : Cincinnati, OH

PostSubject: Re: New Shokk Attack Gun Question   Sun Mar 02, 2008 2:25 am

He assaults the tank. Treating him as assaulting still means he assaulted during the assault phase, even if it happened in the shooting phase.

Plus you wouldn't be able to move away form the tank the turn you had initiated the assault.

Otherwise it would say "treat him as if he assaulted the tank during the shooting phase"

Take it to any other forum and I'm sure you will get the same answer.

_________________
Dark Angels 1750 win/loss Record
Win - 23 (Belial helped wreck Ryan's puny Eldar)
Loss - 13 (Brice's Necrons wiped me)
Draw - 2 (The 13th hold out in alpha take and hold)
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://cincycag.forumotion.com
Nathan
Veteran Sergeant
Veteran Sergeant


Posts : 1134
Join date : 2007-08-25
Age : 25
Location : Mason, or Dayton, Ohio

PostSubject: Re: New Shokk Attack Gun Question   Sun Mar 02, 2008 8:48 am

Just remembered... Cannot assault a unit unless you shot at IT!
Back to top Go down
View user profile
JMarv
The MathHammer


Posts : 914
Join date : 2007-08-20
Location : Evendale, OH

PostSubject: Re: New Shokk Attack Gun Question   Sun Mar 02, 2008 10:50 am

Yeah, to second Nathan's comment, if you shoot at a unit during your shooting phase, that is the only unit that you may assault during the assault phase. So if you shoot the hammerhead you have to assault the hammerhead, not the crisis suit nearby.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Makari
Supreme Forum Overlord


Posts : 3251
Join date : 2007-11-10
Age : 38
Location : Milford, OH

PostSubject: Re: New Shokk Attack Gun Question   Sun Mar 02, 2008 1:02 pm

except for the rule states that no shot is fired.
Full Rule for Shokk Attack Gun:
"In a freak accident, the shokk attack gun fires the Mek and leaves the snotlings in place. No shot is fired. Immediately place the Mek in base contact with the target, and treat him as if he had initiated an assault that turn."

Rule for Shooting and Assaulting:
"A unit that fired in the shooting phase of the current turn may only declare a charge against the unit it shot at."

It does not say that he charged. He did not shoot so he can assault since the Shokk attack gun is a heavy weapon. The rule does not say he charged so he wouldn't get the Furious charge bonus or just the charge bonus. He initiates it because its the only legal way to get with in 1". So I still don't have enough to convince me that he can't charge in the assault phase if he was in base contact/melee with the tank...
Where is the best official place to get a ruling on this?

_________________
The footprints made in the sands of time are not made by sitting down... Unless your playing Warhammer WAAAGH!

New times calls for new Records:
Orcs & goblins (3-1-2)
Empire (0-0-0)
6th Edition
Orks (0-0)
Marines (3-1)
Imperial Guard (0-0)
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://myspace.com/makarithraka
FrostWolf
Veteran Sergeant
Veteran Sergeant


Posts : 1119
Join date : 2007-09-09
Location : lost somewhere in my own mind

PostSubject: Re: New Shokk Attack Gun Question   Sun Mar 02, 2008 1:39 pm

no shot is fired as in the shot you treid to fire is who I would read that he is still fired across the table, also how I read the rule is he gets shot into chargeing the tank itself anywas, its a no choice thing you have to charge the tank as he is shot at it
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Makari
Supreme Forum Overlord


Posts : 3251
Join date : 2007-11-10
Age : 38
Location : Milford, OH

PostSubject: Re: New Shokk Attack Gun Question   Sun Mar 02, 2008 2:38 pm

It specifically says no shot fired. If so he wouldn't be allowed to assault because he has a Heavy weapon and you can't assault with a heavy weapon if you shoot. And the rule is clear he did not charge, only initiated an assault it's the only way to get within 1" of an enemy model is by charging or something has you in an assault.
And seeing as you declare charges at the beginign of the assault phase he can still assault because he doesn't have to stay with the tank, with troops its clearly defined that troop vs. troop cannot disengage, but Troop vs. Tank can and/or vice versa.

_________________
The footprints made in the sands of time are not made by sitting down... Unless your playing Warhammer WAAAGH!

New times calls for new Records:
Orcs & goblins (3-1-2)
Empire (0-0-0)
6th Edition
Orks (0-0)
Marines (3-1)
Imperial Guard (0-0)
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://myspace.com/makarithraka
Matt
CAG Founder


Posts : 3552
Join date : 2007-08-19
Location : Cincinnati, OH

PostSubject: Re: New Shokk Attack Gun Question   Sun Mar 02, 2008 3:30 pm

The act of shooting at it still happened though. If I shoot a weapon and it misfires or something shooting no shots at all... I still attempted to shoot the weapon at a target, meaning it is the only one I can assault.

Like I said, post it other places. You will get the same answer.

_________________
Dark Angels 1750 win/loss Record
Win - 23 (Belial helped wreck Ryan's puny Eldar)
Loss - 13 (Brice's Necrons wiped me)
Draw - 2 (The 13th hold out in alpha take and hold)
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://cincycag.forumotion.com
FrostWolf
Veteran Sergeant
Veteran Sergeant


Posts : 1119
Join date : 2007-09-09
Location : lost somewhere in my own mind

PostSubject: Re: New Shokk Attack Gun Question   Sun Mar 02, 2008 3:47 pm

Again you are missreading it. only initiated an assault means the same as chargeing into a unit for this, the end result is the same you still have to attack only that unit in any phase for that turn
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Makari
Supreme Forum Overlord


Posts : 3251
Join date : 2007-11-10
Age : 38
Location : Milford, OH

PostSubject: Re: New Shokk Attack Gun Question   Sun Mar 02, 2008 4:35 pm

So why didn't they say Counts as if Charged?
So would he then get his furious Charge and The bonus for a charge?
Because as it states he only initiates an assault not charges.

_________________
The footprints made in the sands of time are not made by sitting down... Unless your playing Warhammer WAAAGH!

New times calls for new Records:
Orcs & goblins (3-1-2)
Empire (0-0-0)
6th Edition
Orks (0-0)
Marines (3-1)
Imperial Guard (0-0)
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://myspace.com/makarithraka
FrostWolf
Veteran Sergeant
Veteran Sergeant


Posts : 1119
Join date : 2007-09-09
Location : lost somewhere in my own mind

PostSubject: Re: New Shokk Attack Gun Question   Sun Mar 02, 2008 4:37 pm

I would yes yea he gets his bounos for charging. and its Gamesworkshop they do this type of thing, but if you must ask it is to make people ask questions
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Matt
CAG Founder


Posts : 3552
Join date : 2007-08-19
Location : Cincinnati, OH

PostSubject: Re: New Shokk Attack Gun Question   Sun Mar 02, 2008 5:51 pm

I'd say yes he does get his bonuses.

The best way to handle this kind of thing is blanket a few forums (thewaagh, 40konline, warseer, dakkadakka, etc). That way GW might actually pick up on the problem in the wording... of course that is, if anyone else feels the same confusion you do.

_________________
Dark Angels 1750 win/loss Record
Win - 23 (Belial helped wreck Ryan's puny Eldar)
Loss - 13 (Brice's Necrons wiped me)
Draw - 2 (The 13th hold out in alpha take and hold)
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://cincycag.forumotion.com
Marc
Fantasy Moderator


Posts : 2428
Join date : 2007-08-20
Location : Milford

PostSubject: Re: New Shokk Attack Gun Question   Sun Mar 02, 2008 6:02 pm

Another point for the CAG errata Wink
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://cincycag.forumotion.com/
Sponsored content




PostSubject: Re: New Shokk Attack Gun Question   Today at 6:51 am

Back to top Go down
 
New Shokk Attack Gun Question
View previous topic View next topic Back to top 
Page 1 of 1
 Similar topics
-
» Shokk Attack Gun
» Ravenwing Attack Squad Question
» Codex: Orks review from Dakka Dakka
» 1500pts - Grey Knights vs Orks
» Classic Ork Shokk Attack Gun

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
CAG :: Warhammer 40k :: 40k Rules Questions & Discussion-
Jump to: