CAG
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

A friendly group of people looking to share their Hobby!!!

HomePortalSearchLatest imagesRegisterLog in

I can't paint for #$%t any more.

Go down 
4 posters
AuthorMessage
CaelynTek
Initiate
Initiate
CaelynTek

I can't paint for #$%t any more. Empty
PostSubject: I can't paint for #$%t any more.   I can't paint for #$%t any more. EmptySat Aug 22, 2009 12:45 am

So tonight I started painting my Black Reach terminators.

Bear in mind that back in the day, Space Hulk was my game. I LOVED painting terminators. I loved the large flat surfaces they had which allowed you to paint designs and logos etc. I was pretty dang good at it.

So far the terminator I'm painting sucks the big one. I can't even paint the details like the wings on the chest, or the skulls or anything. I tried painting the power fist to look like it has power running through it, but my blending technique is so terrible it looks like sandpaper. I tried thinning the paint and everything.

I took the shortcut of using dry brushing for the overall shading and coloring, started with Gore Red, inked with black, then dry brushed with Gore Red, then dry brushed with Blood Red, then dry brushed with Blood red mixed with orange fire.

THAT came out fine... but everything else I try to do on details sucks so bad I'm too embarrassed to show pictures.
Back to top Go down
http://miniblog.caelyntek.com
Affliction
Forum Moderator
Affliction

PostSubject: Re: I can't paint for #$%t any more.   I can't paint for #$%t any more. EmptySat Aug 22, 2009 1:32 am