A friendly group of people looking to share their Hobby!!!
 
HomePortalSearchRegisterLog in

 

 Seether Helljack

Go down 
AuthorMessage
Affliction
Forum Moderator
Affliction

Posts : 655
Join date : 2007-08-20
Age : 45
Location : Cincinnati, Oh.

Seether Helljack Empty
PostSubject: Seether Helljack   Seether Helljack EmptyWed Jun 16, 2010 3:15 am

One of my Seethers started out of Venethrax's control area. Question is Does he still gain his focus from "Soul Drive"?

We did come to the conclusion that it does. If after he moved and was still out of the control area I could not use the focus, but if after moving I was then in the control area I could use it as normal.

Any clarity to if I was doing this right would be appreciated.

Soul Drive - This model is allocated 1 additional focus point during your Control Phase.

_________________
Seether Helljack Ironma13

40K Stats: ...is dead to me Evil or Very Mad
Back to top Go down
http://theblackparade2010.blogspot.com/
Carl_Dillon
Forum Moderator
Carl_Dillon

Posts : 378
Join date : 2008-04-08
Age : 45

Seether Helljack Empty
PostSubject: Re: Seether Helljack   Seether Helljack EmptyWed Jun 16, 2010 7:09 am

During that turn if the model started out of the control area then it wouldnt as all effects are resolved before the activation phase. The following turn if you were within the control area you would generate it.

_________________
1-1-1 Dark Eldar
2 - 3 Dark Elves
"Fairy tales do not tell children the dragons exist.
Children already know that dragons exist.
Fairy tales tell children the dragons can be killed."
G.K.Chesterton
Back to top Go down
beckmd
Neophyte
beckmd

Posts : 43
Join date : 2009-02-01

Seether Helljack Empty
PostSubject: Re: Seether Helljack   Seether Helljack EmptyWed Jun 16, 2010 9:20 am

I think there may be a little mixup between the Warmachine and Hordes mechanics here.

Warjacks do not need to be in a warcaster's control area to spend focus. In the base rules, they only need to be in the control area to be allocated focus from the warcaster's focus pool and to channel spells. A Seether's Soul Drive will allocate one focus if outside a warcaster's control area because the focus is not coming from a warcaster. And it can spend it however it likes too. (Note that since Soul Drive uses the word 'allocate' it does contribute to the 3 focus from 'allocation' limit)

In Hordes, on the other hand, you do need to have the warbeast in the warlock's control area to force it to boost, gain additional attacks, etc.

I don't have my book on me for a page number, but you can see how this works in the Warjacks chapter and the "Allocating Focus Points" and "Control Area" sections of the Warcasters chapter.
Back to top Go down
Carl_Dillon
Forum Moderator
Carl_Dillon

Posts : 378
Join date : 2008-04-08
Age : 45

Seether Helljack Empty
PostSubject: Re: Seether Helljack   Seether Helljack EmptyWed Jun 16, 2010 9:39 am

Since it doesn’t specify that you have to meet a certain requirement for the jack to receive the bonus focus then I guess it would happen regardless of its position on the table.

_________________
1-1-1 Dark Eldar
2 - 3 Dark Elves
"Fairy tales do not tell children the dragons exist.
Children already know that dragons exist.
Fairy tales tell children the dragons can be killed."
G.K.Chesterton
Back to top Go down
Sponsored content




Seether Helljack Empty
PostSubject: Re: Seether Helljack   Seether Helljack Empty

Back to top Go down
 
Seether Helljack
Back to top 
Page 1 of 1

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
CAG :: Warmachine/Hordes :: Rules Questions-
Jump to: