A friendly group of people looking to share their Hobby!!!
 
HomeFAQSearchRegisterMemberlistUsergroupsLog in

Share | 
 

 5th edition questions

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
AuthorMessage
LupusGhost
Neophyte


Posts : 157
Join date : 2008-04-24
Location : forest park

PostSubject: 5th edition questions   Tue Jul 22, 2008 11:03 am

Alright, after several long games at the illuminati last night/this morning, (we were there till about 3:30 this morning) Brian and I stumbled across a few rules that weren't quite clear, so if you could point us to the right page or just tell us your thoughts, it would be much appreciated. Without further ado, my list!

1. these first couple have to do with assaulting, for the tau crisis suits, since they can make a move in the assault phase, and it doesnt have to be towards the unit they shot at, does that mean that they can assault a different unit or does it count as a "move" and they must end their move at least 1" away, not counting it as an assault?


2. land raiders and assaulting, since the 4th edition rulebook stated that you could assault out of a land raider, and we looked all over the 5th edition rulebook and cant find anything about it. but the land raider has a front assault ramp, but no ruling was given for that either, so a little clarification please?


3. Okay, so since a unit must assault the vehicle or unit it shot at, if they destroy that vehicle in the shooting phase, may they assault a different unit, or are they forced to stand there and look upon the burning wreck/bodies of slaughtered enemies with a big dumb grin their faces?


4. the piece of wargear for the tau, the drone controller(i think) that allows them to take drones under that units control and the piece of wargear that allows them to target a different unit than the rest of the unit, so the question is, since the drones are under that particular models control, will they fire with the rest of the unit, or will they fire at their owners target?


5.ramming/ tank shock through terrain, do you only have to take a normal difficult terrain test as usual?


6. and last but not least, drop pods, on the turn that they deep strike and enter play, may they initiate a ramming attack against enemy tanks as they come down, i know they usually get shunted off, but with the new vehicle ramming rules i'm not so sure, it might be fun to take drop pods for your whole army and not deploy them in them and use them as giant flying missiles.

I think thats about it, thanks in advance for any feedback/answered questions!
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Matt
CAG Founder


Posts : 3552
Join date : 2007-08-19
Location : Cincinnati, OH

PostSubject: Re: 5th edition questions   Tue Jul 22, 2008 12:59 pm

1. Nope, as the "move" in the assault phase is not an assault move, so it cannot be used to go within 1" of an enemy model. So you are right, it doesn't count as an assault.

2. Hmm, I'll need to triple check when i get back from work... but I am about 99% sure this is covered somewhere in the book. You can assault when the vehicle has an assault ramp. I'll try find a page reference later (someone should be able to beat me to it though).

3. Nope they are out of luck. They have to stand there Sad

4. Not sure on that one, i'd have to check the Tau Codex. I'll get back to it later if no one else gets to it before me.

5. Yes

6. No, because a ramming attack has to be declared and you need to move a specified distance... which doesn't actually exist with a drop pod (as you don't measure the distance from where it lands to the ship!!) Plus As mentioned, you could never declare the ram... as drop pods rely on chance.

With no rulebook/codex on hand, these are my best efforts Wink

_________________
Dark Angels 1750 win/loss Record
Win - 23 (Belial helped wreck Ryan's puny Eldar)
Loss - 13 (Brice's Necrons wiped me)
Draw - 2 (The 13th hold out in alpha take and hold)
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://cincycag.forumotion.com
LupusGhost
Neophyte


Posts : 157
Join date : 2008-04-24
Location : forest park

PostSubject: Re: 5th edition questions   Tue Jul 22, 2008 1:16 pm

Thanks Matt for answering so quick, any takers on the other questions?
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Marc
Fantasy Moderator


Posts : 2428
Join date : 2007-08-20
Location : Milford

PostSubject: Re: 5th edition questions   Tue Jul 22, 2008 1:49 pm

Quote :
2. land raiders and assaulting, since the 4th edition rulebook stated that you could assault out of a land raider, and we looked all over the 5th edition rulebook and cant find anything about it. but the land raider has a front assault ramp, but no ruling was given for that either, so a little clarification please?

Codex trumps rulebook Wink

[ie: Assault Vehicle ala Codex: CSM, Codex: DA]
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://cincycag.forumotion.com/
CJ
Captain
Captain


Posts : 2334
Join date : 2007-08-20
Age : 41
Location : Harrison OH

PostSubject: Re: 5th edition questions   Tue Jul 22, 2008 1:50 pm

The drone controller is under the controlers' command. Former Tau player here. As long as he has the Target lock or whatever it is that can have him target another unit, but the controler has to shoot at the same unit the drones are shooting at.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
JMarv
The MathHammer


Posts : 914
Join date : 2007-08-20
Location : Evendale, OH

PostSubject: Re: 5th edition questions   Tue Jul 22, 2008 3:45 pm

For the assault ramp, codexes Templars, BA, DA and Chaos have the assault ramp written in to them.

The added it in the demonhunters FAQ

At the moment, it doesn't exist as far as I can tell for space marines and therefore space wolves, but that's because it is likely coming with the marine codex. Most reasonable people will let you use the rule.


Also, only tanks can tank shock and therefore ram, so a drop pod can't ram anyway.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Makari
Supreme Forum Overlord


Posts : 3251
Join date : 2007-11-10
Age : 38
Location : Milford, OH

PostSubject: Re: 5th edition questions   Tue Jul 22, 2008 3:46 pm

Matt wrote:

3. Nope they are out of luck. They have to stand there Sad

Unless it was a transport vehicle and you destroyed the vehicle with them in it, and they come out you can charge them now!

_________________
The footprints made in the sands of time are not made by sitting down... Unless your playing Warhammer WAAAGH!

New times calls for new Records:
Orcs & goblins (3-1-2)
Empire (0-0-0)
6th Edition
Orks (0-0)
Marines (3-1)
Imperial Guard (0-0)
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://myspace.com/makarithraka
LupusGhost
Neophyte


Posts : 157
Join date : 2008-04-24
Location : forest park

PostSubject: Re: 5th edition questions   Tue Jul 22, 2008 3:50 pm

Thanks everybody, it'll help speed up our game a little, we played for probably seven hours and only got in two games and the longest one was only four turns! and by the way, let me know if anyone wants to see a battle report for either game, I'll talk to Brian and see what we can whip up!
Back to top Go down
View user profile
LupusGhost
Neophyte


Posts : 157
Join date : 2008-04-24
Location : forest park

PostSubject: Re: 5th edition questions   Tue Jul 22, 2008 3:53 pm

JMarv wrote:
Also, only tanks can tank shock and therefore ram, so a drop pod can't ram anyway.

Any vehicle can ram, doesn't have to be a tank, tanks just get a bonus
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Matt
CAG Founder


Posts : 3552
Join date : 2007-08-19
Location : Cincinnati, OH

PostSubject: Re: 5th edition questions   Tue Jul 22, 2008 4:11 pm

no actually, a vehicle must be a tank to ram. As in Tank vehicle type.

So that puts the nail in the coffin (along with the other things i noted) of tanks ramming.

Quote :
Codex trumps rulebook

[ie: Assault Vehicle ala Codex: CSM, Codex: DA]

Ah they do have the rule in there dont they. For some reason i was thinking it was a USR

_________________
Dark Angels 1750 win/loss Record
Win - 23 (Belial helped wreck Ryan's puny Eldar)
Loss - 13 (Brice's Necrons wiped me)
Draw - 2 (The 13th hold out in alpha take and hold)
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://cincycag.forumotion.com
Sponsored content




PostSubject: Re: 5th edition questions   Today at 1:49 am

Back to top Go down
 
5th edition questions
View previous topic View next topic Back to top 
Page 1 of 1
 Similar topics
-
» 8th Edition questions
» New to the game: questions/comments
» 6th Edition Rules Questions
» Scourge questions
» 8th edition army challenge

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
CAG :: Warhammer 40k :: 40k Rules Questions & Discussion-
Jump to: