A friendly group of people looking to share their Hobby!!!
 
HomeFAQSearchRegisterMemberlistUsergroupsLog in

Share | 
 

 Regarding heavy weapon teams and "count as" rule

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
AuthorMessage
archite666
Initiate
Initiate


Posts : 231
Join date : 2008-12-24

PostSubject: Regarding heavy weapon teams and "count as" rule   Sat Dec 27, 2008 6:52 pm

So Iv always been a bit confused by this even playing guard for several years Iv never seen a actual rule on this. Heavy weapon teams come with a large base, however in some blisters they come on a single base, now when i'm making a heavy weapon squad I like them, however when im adding a heavy weapon team to a infantry squad I really dont like the look of having 2 men on a large base with the other 8 on normal bases. I was curious if anyone knows the exact reference for this.

Secondly I was curious as to the "counts as" rule as I'm doing several lasgun varients and what not in my army, So I need clarification.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Bojesphob
Forum Moderator


Posts : 1323
Join date : 2007-12-14
Location : West Side!

PostSubject: Re: Regarding heavy weapon teams and "count as" rule   Sat Dec 27, 2008 11:34 pm

Well, as I've understood it (and I've played Guard some, not a lot though) is that the large base is only to signify the amount of space two guys take up with a large weapon sitting with them. They used to not even come with a base, way back in the day. But, if you really wanted to, you could put both guys on a normal base and connect the lascannon/heavy bolter/autocannon to one of the guys. It wouldn't look much better IMO, but it would eliminate the larger base. I prefer the larger base, personally, but that's only because it helps, in my mind, to distinguish them from the rest of the squad.


as to the counts as, what exactly is your question? Are you asking if you can make some variants of lasguns that look different, but that are basically just that, lasguns? If that's the case, you can do that as long as you use the base stats for the lasgun when you are shooting with them (ie, you don't say "Well, these laseguns have an AP of 1, even though I only paid for them to count as normal lasguns"). Does that answer your question?

_________________
A tiny portion of humanity turned its back on mankind in the waning days of the last Golden Age. Over one and a half centuries later, the PHR has emerged from the shadows as an unrecognisable civilisation, its people irrevocably changed. They are no longer simple human beings, they are post-humans - cyborgs.

Back to top Go down
View user profile
archite666
Initiate
Initiate


Posts : 231
Join date : 2008-12-24

PostSubject: Re: Regarding heavy weapon teams and "count as" rule   Sun Dec 28, 2008 1:16 am

I guess my question is, as to what extreme can I modify weapons? For instance, I want to use scout shotguns, because they look awesome but can I still call them lasguns?

What is the exact rule as to how much I can modify my weapons?
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Chethrok_Bloodfist
Neophyte


Posts : 189
Join date : 2008-07-12
Location : The deepest pits of Hell ...

PostSubject: Re: Regarding heavy weapon teams and "count as" rule   Sun Dec 28, 2008 1:36 am

As long as you're still using the profile of a lasgun, anything goes (as long as you're not using something that is already another option, like a flamer, or something outrageous, like a missile launcher). If you're gonna sub in scout shotguns, the main thing you need to worry about is consistency - if you're going to use shotguns as lasguns, make sure all lasgun-armed models have shotguns, because mixing and matching might confuse the opponent.

Back in the old days, guardsmen had the option to take a lasgun or autogun. The autogun was exactly the same thing as a lasgun (same profile and everything, basically interchangeable), but it was a pathetic version of the autocannon instead of a pathetic version of the lascannon. So shotguns aren't too out of the ordinary.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Affliction
Forum Moderator


Posts : 655
Join date : 2007-08-20
Age : 42
Location : Cincinnati, Oh.

PostSubject: Re: Regarding heavy weapon teams and "count as" rule   Sun Dec 28, 2008 2:57 pm

This question and answer should really be based on how are you going to play with this army. If it is just in the local gaming store then you could probably pull it off as most people don't care. If you would try to play in a tournament they would probably tell you NO if it were just a shotgun replacement. The WYSIWYG rule states there can be no confusion about what you are modifying. Because there is a "shotgun" in game regardless if IG can have it or not would be confusing to someone who has never read the IG codex. Now if you took the shotgun and modified it so it used the base form of the original but didn't look like one then you would probably be alright. The WYSIWYG rule is really subjective on who is running the tournament as it may be OK for one but not another. So just be nice to the tournament organizers and it should go good for you.

_________________


40K Stats: ...is dead to me Evil or Very Mad
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://theblackparade2010.blogspot.com/
Mike Leon
Forum Moderator


Posts : 667
Join date : 2008-05-12

PostSubject: Re: Regarding heavy weapon teams and "count as" rule   Mon Jan 19, 2009 11:18 pm

Also, I believe you are actually required now to mount models on the bases they came with.

This could affect your situation. It could not. I don't know what kinds of bases come in the box.

Chad is right though. Probably nobody outside the tournament scene is going to care what you do to your models.
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://whowritesthisstuff.net/
Matt
CAG Founder


Posts : 3552
Join date : 2007-08-19
Location : Cincinnati, OH

PostSubject: Re: Regarding heavy weapon teams and "count as" rule   Tue Jan 20, 2009 1:38 pm

Yeah you mount on the base it comes with... most of the new ones come on the large single bases.

_________________
Dark Angels 1750 win/loss Record
Win - 23 (Belial helped wreck Ryan's puny Eldar)
Loss - 13 (Brice's Necrons wiped me)
Draw - 2 (The 13th hold out in alpha take and hold)
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://cincycag.forumotion.com
archite666
Initiate
Initiate


Posts : 231
Join date : 2008-12-24

PostSubject: Re: Regarding heavy weapon teams and "count as" rule   Tue Apr 21, 2009 1:50 pm

Good to know.

Will begin working on my new army and list shortly after may 2nd. I have enough money I plan to just buy a whole new one.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Sponsored content




PostSubject: Re: Regarding heavy weapon teams and "count as" rule   Today at 1:48 am

Back to top Go down
 
Regarding heavy weapon teams and "count as" rule
View previous topic View next topic Back to top 
Page 1 of 1
 Similar topics
-
» Regarding heavy weapon teams and "count as" rule
» IG with IG
» Force Halberds as Force Axe?
» Aegis/Quad Gun/Icarus Conversions?
» Campaign Story Challenge : ERA, "The Mass" Story

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
CAG :: Warhammer 40k :: 40k Rules Questions & Discussion-
Jump to: