A friendly group of people looking to share their Hobby!!!
 
HomeFAQSearchRegisterMemberlistUsergroupsLog in

Share | 
 

 An Odd Question, revisited

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
AuthorMessage
guynamedFleck
Neophyte


Posts : 87
Join date : 2009-03-23

PostSubject: An Odd Question, revisited   Mon May 04, 2009 12:56 am

Sorry for reopening this (as it obviously raised some sour conversations), but I felt as a non associated party this is an honest rules mistake. I would like to clear up the issue.
Quote :

My Raider moves on the board sideways, sicne it can move up and pivot on the spot 24" as is its move...
then it turns on the spot, moves forweard 6", or 12" but i chose 6 in this example. then fires everything or disgorges everyone to charge..

A few rules come into play here.

'Arriving from reserve... Each model's move is measured from the edge of the battlefield, as if they had been positioned just off the board in the previous turn and moved as normal'. p94 BrB

'Vehicles and measuring distances... for distances involving a vehicle, measure to or from their hull...' p56 BrB

See diagram p12 BRB for clarification on properly measuring movement of vehicles.

'Vehicles and Movement... Vehicles can turn any number of times as they move, just like any other model. Vehicles turn by pivoting on the spot about their center-point, rather than 'wheeling' round. Turning does not reduce the vehicle's move. This means a vehicle may combine forward and reverse movement in the same turn providing it does not exceed its maximum move.

By the above stated rules, the raider would begin the turn with the nose of its hull touching the end of the table. It can only travel forward or backwards as determined by the hull (cannot fly sideways). Movement is measured point to point. After completing the initial move if could turn sideways, but this would leave its side less than 24" from the parallel table edge (the edge it arrived from) - as I just so happen to have a raider in hand, that would be 22.5" from the table edge. If it then pivoted back before moving its 2nd turn, the front tip of the raider would still only be 24" from the initial table edge.

The flaw with the above tactic is in assuming a vehicle can travel freely in any direction. Although it is a skimmer, no rule alters the basics for vehicle movement. it is still limited to forward and reverse movement (guess they never figured out drifting). This is why you are free to pivot as many times as you would like throughout the movement.

A quick reference to all the rules in question easily clears this matter up. No need to personally attack someone for thinking in a new approach. This game would be pretty boring if we all thought the same way. Besides, don't you think Edward "Longshanks" would have pitched a royal fit if he new Mel Gibson was gonna bring, "spears, twice as long as any man" to the battlefield? Very Happy
Back to top Go down
View user profile
altahara
Sergeant
Sergeant


Posts : 700
Join date : 2007-11-10
Age : 34
Location : West Chester

PostSubject: Re: An Odd Question, revisited   Mon May 04, 2009 7:15 am

yeah, like the title had said it was an odd question that poped in my head at 4am.. yea looking back through the rules its a no.. and i think we can leave it at one response and noone else has to respond.. cause i know somehow itll turn sour again.. hehe
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Ghazkhull
Neophyte


Posts : 93
Join date : 2008-04-26
Age : 47
Location : Work... bleh

PostSubject: Re: An Odd Question, revisited   Fri May 08, 2009 7:08 pm

You're a dick.



Ghazkhull
Back to top Go down
View user profile
altahara
Sergeant
Sergeant


Posts : 700
Join date : 2007-11-10
Age : 34
Location : West Chester

PostSubject: Re: An Odd Question, revisited   Sat May 09, 2009 9:30 am

Bad Ghaz.. SMILEYS!! hehe


Last edited by altahara on Sat May 09, 2009 8:39 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Ghazkhull
Neophyte


Posts : 93
Join date : 2008-04-26
Age : 47
Location : Work... bleh

PostSubject: Re: An Odd Question, revisited   Sat May 09, 2009 4:29 pm

altahara wrote:
wow... I posted a very calm,and concise 'i screwed up' and pointed out that i understood where i went wrong with my thought process... And i get called a dick?

Ghaz.. Im not quite sure what i did to you to get you to think of me as a dick.. But if you really really have an issue with me, deal with it in person.. I will be at sci fi Monday from 10-9 (Unless i close on this house) and we can have a nice civilized Adult conversation about the issues you have with me.

And yea this goes for anyone who has an issue with me.

OH CRAP!!! No, no, no... That was a joke! You're not a dick. I was just being a smart-ass in reference to this:
altahara wrote:
and i think we can leave it at one response and noone else has to respond.. cause i know somehow itll turn sour again..
Sorry dude. I shoulda put some Very Happy 's and lol! 's in there, I guess.



Ghazkhull
Back to top Go down
View user profile
altahara
Sergeant
Sergeant


Posts : 700
Join date : 2007-11-10
Age : 34
Location : West Chester

PostSubject: Re: An Odd Question, revisited   Sat May 09, 2009 8:40 pm

i was gonna say... I was like'what did i do to him?' geek
Back to top Go down
View user profile
guynamedFleck
Neophyte


Posts : 87
Join date : 2009-03-23

PostSubject: Re: An Odd Question, revisited   Sun May 10, 2009 12:41 am

Yeah, Ghaz once slapped me with a template for standing in his way... that's an intense sense of humor right there. Very Happy
Back to top Go down
View user profile
altahara
Sergeant
Sergeant


Posts : 700
Join date : 2007-11-10
Age : 34
Location : West Chester

PostSubject: Re: An Odd Question, revisited   Sun May 10, 2009 7:16 am

thats ok, my models usually get stuck in peoples hands... (Keith at sci fi one got STUCK in his hand and was there when he lifted his hand up...)
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Mendin
Initiate
Initiate


Posts : 263
Join date : 2008-07-29

PostSubject: Re: An Odd Question, revisited   Sun May 10, 2009 10:44 am

altahara wrote:
thats ok, my models usually get stuck in peoples hands... (Keith at sci fi one got STUCK in his hand and was there when he lifted his hand up...)

Well you play Chaos and Dark Eldar, with all those spikes, someone's bound to impale themselves at some point
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Sponsored content




PostSubject: Re: An Odd Question, revisited   Today at 3:02 am

Back to top Go down
 
An Odd Question, revisited
View previous topic View next topic Back to top 
Page 1 of 1
 Similar topics
-
» Zoo Question
» Online Guild Question
» power weapon question
» dedicated transport question
» Transportation question

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
CAG :: Warhammer 40k :: 40k Rules Questions & Discussion-
Jump to: